a little nibble

I have a few things to post about, but rather than have a five-page post here, I’ll break it up.  Busy, busy, busy.  Work continues on without respite.  Good for $$, not so good for knitting and relaxing.  Thankfully I have roller derby for stress relief.

(edited to add a screen shot from our Saskatoon bout – it was filmed)

2012-12-15 16.48.52

lining up for a jam.

I had to tape my sleeves up; this uniform shirt, the sleeves partially cover the Sharpie numbers on my arms, so that isn’t allowed.  Hopefully the photographer will upload the bout photos soon!

IMG_0595

guess who’s making himself a couch-snoozing regular?

Ava’s not too sure how she feels about that development.

IMG_0599

If I can’t see him, he doesn’t exist.

I finished knitting my skirt:

IMG_0560

Simple Straight Skirt

It turned out pretty good; I could maybe have made it a size smaller, or else have done some hip shaping, but it’s quite comfy to wear.  I feel like it’s a little poofy in the front hip area, but it fits my butt nicely.  My Ravelry project page.

I used four skeins of Cascade 220 Heathers and made it about 20″ long.  I debated trying to sew a lining; in the end I just bought a short slip that I will wear with it.  I would definitely make this again; in fact I do have more Cascade 220 for this purpose.

I’ll have more photos tomorrow!

3 responses

  1. Taped sleeves….a new fashion trend? Maybe duct tape in silver for more formal occasions? Love it! Keep skating like that and you’ll need suspenders (made of tape, maybe?) to keep that skirt up. I am soooo in awe of you. I’m so afraid someone will knock me down, so I keep running to keep the pounds at bay. Guess that’s what old age will do to you. Glad to see you finally got a free minute to post. Miss you on here. Merry Christmas to you, Bill and the poopers!

  2. Lovely pics (as usual) of the Poopers)! Your skirt looks fantastic! Looser is better as then you won’t have to worry about “butt sag” in the skirt (not you LOL). Wishing you and Bill a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year and hugs and ear scritches to the Poopers. Am I correct that you ended your Filofax blog? They have become too “cute” with little stickers, etc. Mine and most that I know of are agendas. I guess it is age group and daily activities related! LOL Take care and all the best for 2013.

Leave a comment

