knitting … hmmm, I remember you!

I was able to sit down Saturday night and finish up the Cozy V-Neck sweater. I loved working on it and am very happy with how it turned out.

We found a break in the storm clouds yesterday afternoon to take some pics in the back yard (under the Ugly Tree – we have no idea what kind of tree it is, but the neighbours say it flowers white in the spring).

This was, of course, The Cozy V-Neck with Deep Ribbing from the Fitted Knits book. I’ve made one before out of some redwood coloured Elann Highland Chunky. This was Lana Grossa Royal Tweed (in colour #11, a slubby, tweedy blue) that Ande’s mom so generously gave me (and I have some left over!). I followed my mods that I used for the previous version – my gauge was a little off, so I used the length measurements for one size and the stitch counts for another. I made the sleeves longer than called for, and for some reason they bell out at the cuffs which I love. Don’t know why they’re doing it, but I like it.

I forced the big fella to be photographer and set the camera for continuous shooting. His aim wavered and some of the shots have me without a head. But the sweater looks great!

“Can you stop beheading me and pay attention to your composition?!”

We had some of the girls over for a steak bbq last night. We didn’t get to go for a bike ride (well, they did earlier in the afternoon, but on mountain bikes on a trail) but the big fella and I scouted out a few possible road ride routes (I should say we eliminated several possibilities …). It’s down to two possible routes, neither of them as ideal as our fab lakeshore route in the park.

Sabrina and Apollo have been going crazy in the back yard. They run around, they get in that sand box and dig, dig, DIG! Apollo entertained our guests last night by digging right to the bottom of the sand box. It’s probably 12″ high, maybe 16. He’s a nut bar! Sabrina had two little injuries – one on her foot from harpooning a branch deep between the toes of her back foot; the other is the dog equivalent of a skinned knee. I was inside when she skinned her knee and came out to find the big fella looking at her foot. I made a big fuss and she lapped it all up (drama! queen!) and then two minutes later she was running full-tilt across the yard again.

I had some errands to run this a.m. and then spent the bulk of the afternoon in the basement, working on organizing the storage room and getting boxes unpacked and put away. The “family room” is a disaster right now with boxes, book cases, chairs, etc. that need to be put in their place. Once I get the storage room organized (I bought five shelving units and have them assembled, ready to be filled) the family room should clear out a lot. I do have an area of the family room set aside for three of my book cases and intend to fill them with yarn … so that will be more fun and less of a chore.

4 responses

  1. Love the blue cozy sweater, looks well… so cozy! 🙂

    I wonder if your ugly tree may be a beautiful magnolia tree. I can’t tell from the leaves in your picture but if I’m right then you are one lucky person! 😉

  2. That was my thought too! Magnolia tree!! Ugly but pretty for about a week in the spring.
    And mom will be so proud of the cozy v-neck! Looks awesome!

  3. Sweater is gorgeous! Seems the Big Fella agrees and did not want anything but the sweater in some of the photos (or he was focusing on other body parts – LOL). Sounds like you are settling into your home and the surrounding area quite nicely.

  4. I love this sweater, the fit and the deep blue colour – it’s beautiful.
    ahhh, Sabrina looks adorable in that photo, cuddled up with her lamb. I’m glad she is ok.

Leave a comment

