the curse of the paprika Classic Wool

You might remember the Patons Classic Wool in lovely “paprika” colourway … it started out being the Must Have Cardigan:

Must Have ... naw, Must NOT!

Must Have ... naw, Must NOT!

I knit the back and part of one of the fronts when I decided it just wasn’t doing it for me. I let it percolate for a while (gave it a “time out”, if you will) and when I took it back out, I abandoned it, flung it onto the UFO file.

Not wanting the Curse of the yarn to defeat me, I looked around for another pattern with which to use the lovely wool. I decided to start the Cable Front Pullover:

Cable Front sweater, but scrawny sleeves

Cable Front sweater, but scrawny sleeves

I worked the plain stocking stitch back and thought the sweater was on its way. I started to knit the fronts, and then a sleeve when I looked more closely at the schematic and realized it was designed for someone with stick arms, not someone who’d been into weight lifting and had a bit of meat on her biceps. I put it aside to think about how to salvage the project. It, too, was put into a time out.

After our move when I was finishing up the yarn nook, I came across a bundle of half-knit pieces of these two sweaters and decided it was time to frog it all. Which I did, then I wet it down and hung it to dry:

skeined alive

skeined alive

The love was returning! I got out my swift and ball winder and … disaster! Something is amiss on my swift; it won’t turn that freely, so the balls were wound unbelievably tight. I corrected that by immediately winding them again at a much looser tension:

lovely paprika Classic Wool

lovely "paprika" Classic Wool

By the way, the colour in the photo with the skeins off the patio table is the truest of all these. I think this wool’s final incarnation will be the very cute February Lady Sweater. While I contradict myself – today I was fortunate enough to meet up with Under Sask Skies’ Judy for a good visit and coffee and pie/cheesecake; I was saying I tend to avoid the “knits of the moment” that everyone and their 2,569 friends on Ravelry are making. Well, I’m jumping on this bandwagon and hope that the yarn and pattern will make a harmonious partnership. And that I can actually use the eight skeins of this wool! Further, Judy and I had an absolutely delightful visit; she came to the house meet Mr. Apollo (and I imagine he charmed her as he does everyone!) and even had a couple of dog cookies for anyone who was interested…

I also recently started a second pair of socks:

lovely Regia 4-Ply Nordic Color #5516

lovely Regia 4-Ply Nordic Color #5516

I am using the Harris Tweed pattern stitch (basically a waffle stitch) for the legs and instep, but using my own sock formula instead of the stitch count provided in the pattern on the Rav. These are somewhat addicting. It’s a four row repeat, (two sets of two rows) and I find myself saying “just finish this set of four rows” a lot. It’s making a really nice fabric. I’ll have to get a photo for tomorrow.

I was messing around with the camera yesterday, playing with the settings for ISO and colour saturation. Some neat ones of the poopers:

grainy princess

grainy princess

he looks skeptical

he looks skeptical

still not sure about this ...

still not sure about this ...

ah, happy Big Handsome!

ah, happy Big Handsome!

Those are all out of the camera and onto Flickr. I love my high speed! But now, I must do something about supper.

One response

  1. I have to ask- are you knitting the February Lady Sweater like the one knit by the very pregnant person, or one that will just drape nicely?

    We had our dog pool out and while Attie will walk through it, all Wallace would do is bob for his soccer ball from the edge. He’s such a coward.

Leave a comment

