is it cake?

or is it a brownie?

very good, no matter what it is

very good, no matter what it is

Yesterday in celebration of the cooler temps, I whipped up this great recipe but instead of using a cookie sheet, I put the batter in a 9 x 13 cake pan and baked it for 31 minutes. It’s damn good, but the texture is more dense and brownie-like than “cake”.

I made a half-batch of the icing and cut way back on the sugar (by half, so 1/4 of the called for sugar for the half-batch) and it’s much less cloyingly sweet and more chocolatey. Yummy. And so what if I had this for breakfast?!

Apollos learning

Apollo's learning

new tricks from Sabrina – he jumped up on the love seat and snuggled into the throw pillows much like Sabrina often does.

hello

hello

Mr. Handsome sooo loves his gold plush blanket. He was facing into the a/c and must have gotten a little chilled, because when I walked by next, he had his face snuggled into his blankie.

awww!

awww!

I’ve been browsing through Ravelry’s pattern searcher for some new sock patterns and ideas. I still am getting sidetracked by everyone’s great projects, but I’ve added quite a few new things to my project queue. I am completely swayed by the Jack Sparrow socks as well as some other textured sock patterns. I’m not a big fan of doing colourwork, but I sure love the finished product.

And I still am being pulled by the sweater bug – especially now that we’ve had a couple of days respite from the damnable heat!

waiting for her daddy

waiting for her daddy

I told Sabrina that her daddy would be home by lunch time. She’s curled up in his pillows waiting …

Huh – I was just looking at my Ravelry queue and see another pirate sock pattern, the Buccaneer’s Booty Sock that I had added some time ago. The Jack Sparrow socks has a different skull pattern (taken from the We Call Them Pirates hat by Hello Yarn – of which I have knit many) and I like it better. The Jack Sparrow socks are knit toe up, as well, so that’s different. I love all the great colour combinations for both versions. Hey, check out this great mitten pattern at Hello Yarns.

So anyway, back to sweater ideas – I very much want to do the February Lady Sweater, however the accursed Paprika Classic Wool seems a little flat for this project. The majority of the sweaters on the Rav are done in a heathery or tweedy type yarn. So I’m still thinking about that. I have some other sweater projects queued, but not very many (i.e. none?) in that gauge. I will not let the accursed Paprika Classic Wool beat me … back to searching …

NEWSFLASH: edited to add that I found some peeps who successfully used the Classic Wool for a very cute bunnyhug, but I notice that the two made with Paprika were fraught with problems. Bwah ha ha – the Curse of the Paprika Classic Wool!

Leave a comment

