hounds, camera, sock

I’ve been busy taking hundreds dozens of photos with the new D-SLR, messing around and mixing up the settings.  It’s been interesting.  Some have been complete failures, and others have been pretty cool.

I also have put in some time on the No Purl Monkey socks.  I’m past the gusset decreases on both socks and motoring my way down to the toes:

the single yellow row is where I worked across the instep after the heel turning

the single yellow row is where I worked across the instep after the heel turning

I’ve also been full of inspiration for new sock projects:

nice green shades of Regia

nice green shades of Regia

I really do need to get that Norwegian Star hat assembled, but I just can’t put down those No Purl socks.  This morning before we went out with the dogs, it was -1° but -5°C with the wind chill.  Brrrr.  I managed to convince the dogs to wait a little while and we went out later than usual, but it had warmed up a bit.

This concludes the knit/sock content.  The rest of the entry is going to be greyhounds, pic heavy, so feel free to move on …

Apollo safely out of reach of the vacuum; his gold plush blanket makes it all okay

Apollo safely out of reach of the vacuum; his gold plush blanket makes it all okay

You might notice that the manky old wallpaper has been removed from Apollo’s room.  I spent a few hours on Thursday doing that.  The big fella was away over night Thursday and when he returned on Friday night it took him a long time to figure out what change I had made in the house.  Trained observer, indeed.

how YOU doin?!

how YOU doin'?!

snoozin

snoozin'

Sabrina makes the pink poodle squeak

Sabrina makes the pink poodle squeak

time for another nap

time for another nap

Apollo for Prime Minister

Apollo for Prime Minister

BIG stretch!

BIG stretch!

a study in lighting

a study in lighting

Apollo didnt explode - but he did get brushed!

Apollo didn't explode - but he did get brushed!

[and also – depth of field experiment]

no one, and I mean NO ONE can nap like a greyhound!

no one, and I mean NO ONE can nap like a greyhound!

I hate you and Im going to kill you in your sleep.

I hate you and I'm going to kill you in your sleep.

I bought a couple of baby/infant winter hats and balaclavas at W@l Mart yesterday, just to see how I could redesign my attempts to make them fit the poopers.  This one slays me.  It fits pretty good, but I think the balaclavas would be easier to keep on them.  But I love how he looks!!

Mommy, what are you doing down there?!

Mommy, what are you doing down there?!

We had to go out late this morning and run errands and get some things at the home centre – and then the big fella insisted we HAD to buy the snowblower today.  [sigh]  We got a very good deal on it, and now it’s sitting in the garage and he’s happily waiting for a blizzard.

And now it’s pupper supper time …

6 responses

  1. The poopers look adorable as usual. I’ve just checked out the greyhounds for adoption in Carol Stream, IL. I live not very far from Dairyland Race Track where Sabrina actually ran.

  2. Judy, he forgave me last night and early this a.m. when we were having two freakishly loud thunderstorms and he had to snuggle up to his mommy to be safe from the big bangs!

  3. I am so glad to have re-found you. I use ‘bloglines’ and for months now have been waiting for the feed to show an entry on your blog. Which of course would never have happened as you had moved. But the lost is found, and I have just spent my afternoon reading your postings since June.

Leave a comment

