stuck in my head

I have that stooopid song

stuck in my head. Except my version is “Flocking™ on Sunshine”, as I have been devoting my knitting time these past couple of days to the never-ending Flocks™. (Side note – the 80s … ugh. But I did have a pair of red high-top Converse All-Stars just like hers!)

I tried a different chocolate chip cookie recipe last night:

looks good

looks good

tastes good!  mmm, melting chocolate ...

tastes good! mmm, melting chocolate ...

This was a small batch – 24 cookies – and I resisted the urge to double it.  The last time I tried a new recipe, I doubled it and then had twice as many crappy cookies.  They were horrible.  This one I think I’ll use again.  The recipe is here.

The big fella was away last night and Sabrina managed to nest the bed into disarray.  This morning when we got back from our walk, she was trying the get the blankets just right and gave me “the look”.  So I straightened all the blankets and tucked her in:

fix my blanket!

fix my blanket!

It seemed to meet with her approval, because the next time I walked by the bedroom:

she was comfy.

she was comfy.

Apollo, having considerably more meat on him, didn’t need to be tucked in.  He did have his plush gold snuggle blanket:

content

content

and thats the truth.

and that's the truth.

3 responses

  1. Your blog and the pictures of Sabrina and Apollo put a smile on my face evry day. I look forward to your posts. I still have to go back to the pictures of the WalMart hats for a laugh.

    Just got the measurements from my son to start the sweaters for his two greyhounds Zippy and Peaches. I hope they like them, they certainly need something warm out in Minnesota!

  2. Cookies! I love cookies! A workmate recently shared his lunch cookies with us and he was kind enough to send me the recipe after a lot of begging. We absolutely love this combination of chocolate and nuts!

    Toll House Cookies

    Ingredients:

    * 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (I usually use 1/2 cup oatmeal, the rest flour)
    * 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    * 1 teaspoon salt
    * 1 cup butter, softened
    * 1/2 cup granulated sugar
    * 1 cup packed brown sugar
    * vanilla extract
    * 2 large eggs
    * 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate bits
    * 1 cup chopped nuts
    * sea salt

    Directions:

    COMBINE flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in chocolate and nuts.

    REFRIGERATE dough for 24 to 72 hours in an airtight bag. Alternatively, vacuum pack the dough and refrigerate up to 7-8 hours. This step is MANDATORY for the sugars in the dough to caramelize. (We’ve baked the cookies after 48 hours and that seems to be long enough time for the end result to be delicious.)

    PREHEAT oven to 190 C (375 F).

    MAKE golfball sized balls from the refrigerated dough. (We prefer smaller cookies, so we’ve made about 12 smaller balls.) Place them evenly on a baking sheet. One sheet takes about 6. The entire dough makes about 12-18 cookies. Lightly sprinkle ground sea salt on the dough balls.

    BAKE for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Leave a comment

