It was 20 years ago today

that the big fella and I said our “I do”s.  Huh.  That’s a long time!  We’ve been a lot of places, done a lot of fun things together.

the blushing bride

the blushing bride

The 80s were a great decade for big poofy things (love those sleeves!), hair adornments, etc.

awww, look at the happy couple!

awww, look at the happy couple!

That long train on my dress didn’t make it out of the church without a big boot print on the back of it.  No one confessed ^^, but I had my suspicions!

smooch, smooch!  That was before our centerpiece caught fire.

smooch, smooch! That was before our centerpiece caught fire.

[side note – the big fella now has four more stars on his sleeve] [and look at how skinny I was – not only 20 years, but probably 20 pounds ago, too!]

This is our big (16 x 20), formal “Ted Baxter” * wedding portrait.  It was taken with a large format camera (I think a Hasselblad) but unfortunately we are not as much in focus as the evergreen needles behind us.

what have we got ourselves into?!

what have we got ourselves into?!

I couldn’t find the original print, so took a photo of the enlargement.  For some reason, that photo always reminds me of this one:

minus the cat, of course

minus the cat, of course (and I'm not saying anything about the baseball bat)

Twenty years, big fella!  It’s been a fun ride.  I’ll keep you on for another 20 …

*Remember he had that HUGE portrait of himself in his apartment?

7 responses

  1. Happy Anniversary! May you have many more happy years together in which you make even more wonderful memories. Loved seeing the photos. I was visiting my Dad in August and he pulled out a photo of hubby and me taken about 3 months before we were married. Now mind you, I’m not overweight or anything, but when I saw that photo, I couldn’t help but think, “My gosh, I had a REAL waistline.” Ahhh, the years have been kind enough, but I’m softer than I was back in 1974 when the photo was taken. Enjoy your anniversary!

  2. Happy Anniversary, and apart from the obvious changes in style, neither of you look a day older!

    A long marriage seems to be more and more rare these days; you have chosen wisely and must be looking after each other. Here’s to the next 20!

Leave a comment

