another winner

I mentioned yesterday I wanted to try this cookie recipe for homemade Oreos.  I gathered my ingredients and what could possibly be

my new best friend

my new best friend

The recipe calls for the dough to be mixed in a food processor.  Well.  It was super easy and I think I’ll try other cookie doughs this way.

nice!

nice!

I had noted some comments on Ravelry and on the blog where the recipe originated and reduced the amount of sugar for the chocolate wafers to 3/4 cup instead of 1 to 1.5 cup.  The wafers were dark, dense and chocolatey and not overly sweet.  The recipe yield was 25 to 30 sandwich cookies, but I only got 18 and a half.  So I had to eat that odd one out.  Anyway, I think I used a little more for each ball of dough than the original recipe because mine also were a bit thicker than in the photos on the recipe page.  Or I should have flattened them more before baking.

I baked them exactly nine minutes, no more, as recommended on the discussion board.  I mixed up the filling and by then the cookies were completely cool and easy to handle.  I filled them with a pastry bag and sandwiched them together.

theyre a little darker than in the photo

they're a little darker than in the photo

dont you want one?

don't you want one?

mmm, thats pretty good

mmm, that's pretty good

yum, I need some milk ...

yum, I need some milk ...

almost gone

almost gone

oh, definitely TWO thumbs up!

oh, definitely TWO thumbs up!

And here’s my -other- new best friend:

1.5 litre crock pot

1.5 litre crock pot

I’ve been looking everywhere (in stores and online) for this.  I picked one up at a liquidation store some weeks ago and the first time I used it, it shorted out and burnt all the wiring.  $9.99 down the drain.  The other day I was in Sears and went through the kitchen section and they had these Kenmore ones for $19.99 with a two year warranty, so I brought it home.  It’s perfect for doing a couple of baked potatoes for us on steak night, and yesterday I tried making oatmeal in it and it turned out really good.

One response

  1. I have several crockpots. I use them ALL the time. One of them is over 20 years old and still works fantastic. In fact, it works better than my new one. And I can also attest to the validity that those homemade oreos were very tasty!!!

Leave a comment

