we interrupt the eating and drinking …

but first, look at what we’ve been making:

cabernet braised beef short ribs with gorgonzola polenta

cabernet braised beef short ribs with gorgonzola polenta

Oh, and there’s a mixed herb gremolata sprinkled on top.  Yum.  We made that yesterday (Ande sous-chef’d for me).  And today:

apple pie

apple pie

and

lovely, crusty French bread for supper

lovely, crusty French bread for supper

Right now we have an eight-pound Hutterite chicken roasting in the oven.  I’m bandying about that “we” pretty easy – Ande has been head chef and I’ve done the sous-chef work today when I haven’t been knitting.

I made this:

Bounce hat

Bounce hat

of which I will post in more detail later.  Cute little project.

Sabrina helps Auntie Ande with her knitting

Sabrina "helps" Auntie Ande with her knitting

We have had such a great visit.  We’re going to spend the evening enjoying our lovely chicken supper and apple pie, more knitting and visiting, then, alas, tomorrow we must return Ande to the airport so she can wing her way back to Vancouver, her guy, the poopers and the kitties.  We have LOVED having her here in our little home!

Edited to add this photo of Apollo in action with his new sweater:

I can FLY!

I can FLY!

There’s more pics if you click through to Flickr.  Also more pics of that cute hat, too.

4 responses

  1. It sounds like you’ve had a mahvellous visit! Can I have the recipe for the polenta?

    We’ve had questionable weather out here in Vernon, too. I have a little browsing to do tomorrow in Kelowna and then on Tuesday morning in Vernon before we head home, but I am feeling the lack of canines badly. I would even take one that can’t fly right now. (Apollo is such a card.) We’re not even sure if Andy is feeding the crew at home.

    ps I actually knit a thumb today.

  2. what is apollo doing? rough housing in a sweater? very u.s. 80s catalogue style model. or that’s what it reminds me of: j. crew and l.l. bean autumn shots.

    apollo has a nicer booty.

  3. You two have had a great visit! The food! The fun! Makes me miss my BFF. Thanks for all the great food photos. Now I’ve got to get cooking.

Leave a comment

