what?! November already?

I can’t believe it’s November!  I just went around the house and flipped all the (greyhound) calendars to the new month.

We only had about 40 kids last night for trick-or-treating.  Our neighbours on either side said to expect about 80, and of course we bought for 112 (28 + 24 chips + 30 + 30 chocolate bars) and made sure we handed out the chips and bars we didn’t like first.  Heh.  I thought we’d be bombarded with kids because the weather was really quite pleasant.  Not like the old days where we’d go trick-or-treating in our snowsuits or puffy jackets.

February Lady Sweater in progress

February Lady Sweater in progress

I’m working on the third skein of the Silk ‘n Wool.  I’m not sure how long I’ll make the body before doing the garter stitch border and casting off.  I searched the Rav for what other people did and looked at photos.  A few more inches, for sure.

here it is on

here it is on

The colour is all weird because I accidentally set the white balance on the camera to tungsten, so everything had a real blue cast to it.  I tried to correct it, but it didn’t work that well.  The top photo shows the colour much truer.

We’re going out tonight to a military ball, the Armstice Day Ball held at the local Armouries.  The big fella will be in red serge and I was trying to decide between two dresses.  I ended up chosing the black one.  (I tried on a dozen dresses at Sears, bought one, then let it marinate in the closet for a week or so before deciding to go with another one.)  It’s a little limiting when the big fella is in red serge because my dress can’t clash with the red, even though one of the contenders was a gorgeous red dress.

I have a hair appointment shortly to get some semblance of style into it, rather than my usual crazy hair.  I don’t know if I’ll go with curly or straight.  It will be a surprise!!

Leave a comment

