Swiss Steak

I had a hankerin’ yesterday for something beefy, braised and hearty. I found this recipe for Swiss Steak. I like that it gives directions for stove top, oven or slow cooker methods. I decided to go with the stove top:

Combining it all in the Dutch oven

Combining it all in the Dutch oven

I followed the recipe for the most part, but I upped the wine to 1 cup from 1/4.  Ande would be so proud!  I had more round steak than the recipe called for, so I upsized everything just a wee bit to compensate.  I let it simmer for close to two hours and it came out fork-tender.  At the end, after thickening the braising/simmering liquid, I used my stick blender and puréed it.

so good!

so good!

I served it with buttermilk whipped potatoes.  I forwent any other veggies as really, there’s nothing so tasty as meat and potatoes!  We all agreed.

I cast on yesterday afternoon to make a pair of wrist warmers for a gift.  I had the lovely Noro Cashmere Island.  I found this pattern for fingerless mitts and I’ve adapted it to work with the dk weight Cash Island. I finished one this morning and am in the process of starting the second of the pair.

Noro Cashmere Island is very nice!

Noro Cashmere Island is very nice!

one down, one to go

one down, one to go

My Noro Rib hat has had a few rounds worked on it, but not that much.  Once I get the wrist warmers off the needles, I’ll devote myself to the hat.

2 responses

  1. Mmmmm… The Swiss steak looks delicious! If I give you my snail mail address will you send me a serving? (Just kidding….or not). The mitt looks warm and cozy, they shoud be fun to wear.

Leave a comment

