It’s ma birfday!

Is 8 years old!

I's 8 years old!

Yes, our big boy is eight years old today.  Oh, that reminds me, I kept meaning to post a link to an entry about Peaches, who is 12. What a doll!  But back to Apollo … for his birthday, I got him a new squeaky crocodile:

a new toy, just for me!  And I can make it squeak!

a new toy, just for me! And I can make it squeak!

Uh oh – insert dramatic, villain music here …

!! hark, what is that I hear?!  A brand new squeaky toy?!

!! hark, what is that I hear?! A brand new squeaky toy?!

I must have it, even though its Apollos

I must have it, even though it's Apollo's

squeak, squeak, squeak ... kill, kill, kill

squeak, squeak, squeak ... kill, kill, kill

wait a minute - I thought it was all about ME today?

wait a minute - I thought it was all about ME today?

Rest assured that karma came and bit Sabrina in the ass.  While she was killing his new toy, Apollo and I adjourned to the kitchen and I gave him a nice big handful of roast chicken meat.  Heh.

So we had a quiet weekend around the house.  We had some snow, just barely enough so the big fella could get out the new snowblower and give it a try:

happier than a pig in a wallow

happier than a pig in a wallow

As if he needed any further excuse to play, I directed him to the backyard to start setting the winter race track for the poopers:

getting started

getting started

paths on which to run!

paths on which to run!

Apollo was quite intrigued with the whole process

Apollo was quite intrigued with the whole process

Sabrina as well, but not enough to get off the couch

Sabrina as well, but not enough to get off the couch

We were happy to stick close to home.  We went out to run a few errands on Saturday afternoon, but avoided the crazy shoppers in the stores.

bookends

bookends

sleepy boy

sleepy boy

Right.  So there was some knitting over the weekend.  I finished a very cute hat for myself:

Noro Silk Garden Rib Hat

Noro Silk Garden Rib Hat

(and isn’t that a nice, bitchy look on my face!)

Project deets and more photos on my Rav page.

I also knit another project, I’ll put a Rav link here so that the recipient won’t see it on the blog.  I’m pretty happy with how that item turned out.

Hmm, what else.  Oh, I made a nice chicken chow mein for supper last night.  I tried a different recipe than my usual; this one from Canadian Living. Of course they add broccoli to make it more nutritious. It was very good!

I’m going to finish some chores around the house now, then mix up some chocolate chip cookie dough (to be chilled and baked off tomorrow), and I want to try a new scone recipe Monica found – cranberries!

Do I still get chicken with my supper tonight?!

Do I still get chicken with my supper tonight?!

10 responses

  1. Ha! Even though he’s the bestest boy he still looks a little embarrassed by the hat! Apollo, that’s the best hat ever! Happy Birfday! Auntie sends love and scritches! And hopes you’ll growl at her in your bed again soon!

  2. Happy Birthday to Apollo! He does not look his age! I love the pics with the pirate hat. You have to send those for the calendar next year! Also love the hat you knit for yourself it is really cool!

  3. Stop making yummy looking things! You’ll make me fat! (It will have nothing to do with the crap I’ve been eating all week)

    I *have* to make those cookies now.

    Happy Crappy Winter. We have a HIGH of -21 for the weekend. poop.

  4. Apollo looks as excited about the pirate hat as my sister’s Boston looks in his motorcycle jacket and cap. Or Attie in her “Angel” Santa hat.

    Great idea to blow a racetrack into your backyard- I may have to get Mike on that for Wallace.

    I like your new hat- perhaps some of the naughty Noro I have in my stash would consent to becoming a hat.

Leave a comment

