How ’bout that weather?!

Because we’re Canadian, we love to talk/complain/exclaim about the weather.  But this last couple of weeks have just been brutal!  See, it’s not just me!  Every day I check the forecast online and am resigned to it just being damn cold for the foreseeable future.  It’s not me I’m feeling bad for, it’s the poor little poopers!

brrrr!

brrrr!

make it warmer, NOW!

make it warmer, NOW!

And it seems we’ll be cold for a little while longer.  Well, we are toasty warm in our house with the new furnace, so we’ll just wait it out.  We went out yesterday afternoon and got some groceries and supplies, so hopefully we won’t have to be out that much in the coming days, other than family visits over the holidays.

In other news, I finished knitting the three coffee cozies and felted them down yesterday:

keep my coffee cosy!

keep my coffee cosy!

The one of the left/rear was made with Noro Kureyon, what the pattern specified, and the other two are mmmMalabrigo.  For some reason the Kureyon felted much better than the mmmMalabrigo.  I think the Mal would felt better in a machine, but I did these by hand.  Were I to make more, I would stick with the Kureyon.  The blue/green cosy was made a bit bigger, to fit a “grande” go cup.

Kureyon colour # 90

Kureyon colour # 90

There were a few hours where the world almost came screeching to a halt on its axis – I didn’t have anything on the needles!!  Well, except for those poor “Gentleman’s Shooting Stockings” that have been stalled for weeks and weeks at the ribbed cuff.  I haven’t decided what I’m going to do about that.  Anyway, I flipped through my knitting folder, looked at my Rav Faves and decided to start some mittens.  I am using Regia 6-ply in a charcoal and white.

corrugated rib cuff

corrugated rib cuff

I also flipped through my copy of Selbuvotter, and while they are all beautiful designs, they are a finer gauge than what I’m getting with the 6-ply, so I didn’t see any graphs I could incorporate.

At this point I’m just following the Hello Yarn Pirate Mittens pattern.  They also have a free generic Norwegian mitten graph which you can d/l and print off. It’s a pdf file linked from that page.  I have a few ideas of designs for the palm and back-of-hand, but I haven’t sketched them out yet.  If they don’t prove pleasing, I’ll just go with the skulls!

Apollo this morning

Apollo this morning

Mommy, shes on my bed ... and shes touching my bum!

Mommy, she's on my bed ... and she's touching my bum!

So I will have to come to a decision about those socks.  I just am not feeling the love for them.  I probably will rip them out and find some yarn that would better suit the fluted pattern, or else the harris tweed pattern.  The Meilenweit:

here, to refresh your memory (and mine)

here, to refresh your memory (and mine)

has too much going on – tweeds, colour bands, etc. for a heavy stitch texture.  Good for a hat or some stocking stitch socks, though.

and she broke my alligator, too

and she broke my alligator, too

6 responses

  1. So weird. I had lunch with a knitting friend yesterday and she told me about the same generic mitten graph. I love it when knitters get the same vibe at the same time. I asked for selbuvotter for Christmas. Once I finish the next sweater, I’m on to stranded mittens!

  2. It is so cold here in the Great Lakes area, that my legs ache, my ankle hurts and my feet ache and this has never happened before. We’ve had minus 30 F before, but I never ached before. Hmmm. We’re tired of moving the snow and it’s not even Christmas yet. Sorry, poopers, we’re all suffering. But, it WILL BE a WHITE CHRISTMAS for sure.

  3. We are going to have snow, rain, freezing rain, snow, rain, snow, snow, rain, etc and that is just this evening.
    The main problem here is power almost the whole city is without, many of the stores have shut early as a result, so the last minute shopper are *&^%$. There are also those across the province with no power as a result of the storm earlier this week.
    I have power however my Mom does not and I’m headed that way later today. So it will be chilly as no power = not heat.
    Canada in the winter…

    Merry Christmas!
    Paula
    Robin says Merry woof woof to the big dogs.

  4. When a (white and brindle) greyhound is sleeping proper, you can spot a tail between hind legs and pointy ears. Especially when mornings are cold. Apollo does not want to wake up before May 🙂

  5. oh, i just returned from the snow. i loved it. easy to love when you don’t ever see it. i landed back in australia (bris, subTROPICS) on the hottest day of the season. i know a harsh canadian winter would kill me, but i still do miss having seasons and needing sweaters.

    i know i’d love the greyhound winter wear.

Leave a comment

