New year, new mittens

Welcome, 2009!  It’s a bright, sunny and somewhat warmer day here.  We had some snow last night (a blizzard, actually) and the poopers had a good romp in the yard this morning.  We were invited out to a small party last night with some of the big fella’s co-workers.  It was a lot of fun and we didn’t get home until after 1 a.m., which is unheard of for us.   We slept in and are moving very slowly today.  The big fella says his head hurts, and speculated it might have been something he ate.  🙂  Heh.

I finished off the piratey mittens yesterday:

pirates and snowflakes

pirates and snowflakes

I found a motif from Selbuvotter, I believe, for the palm side of the mitts.  And I just did a 2×2 check for the thumbs.

arrrggh!

arrrggh!

The only thing I am disappointed in is the transition from the bottom motif to the beginning of the top motif.  On paper it looked different!  I would have preferred either a row of ticking or else just some stripes to break up the solid white.  It looks almost Incan (Mayan?) between the two skulls, instead of flakes of snow.

palm motif, check!

palm motif, check!

The other thing I’d do differently, were I to make these again, would be to do a proper thumb gusset.  I did think briefly about it when I was flipping through Selbuvotter, but decided not to.  The pattern calls for you to just knit those stitches onto waste yarn, then come back, pick them up along with a corresponding number for the “back” side of the thumb and knit.  The thumbs sit a little awkwardly and don’t flow as nicely as if a gusset had been used.  I still think they’re really cute and will definitely wear them a lot!

I’m adding this photo here as probably my FAVE photo from 2008; I tried to get it to fit into the mosaic maker in yesterday’s post, but it kept setting the photo on its side:

my babies!

my babies!

2 responses

  1. I love the photo of your significant others! Very patriotic.

    Those mitts are impressive. All I’ve done is cast on for a sock, and I’m not sure how to tell if it’s going to be the right size or not. I guess time will tell.

    Happy new year! Stay warm.

Leave a comment

