stealth hat and mittens

Yay – I finished these tonight!  I really, really like that Bernat “wool blend” but they’ve discontinued it.  I noticed yesterday on Bernat’s crappy website that they’ve now discontinued the cashmere blend as well.  Why??  They are fabulous yarns.

complete with idiot strings, as requested!

complete with idiot strings, as requested!

I used the basic mitten recipe from Anne Budd’s book of patterns.  The hat is, of course, my variation of the Robin’s Egg Blue hat. I adapted it for worsted weight and I used a garter stitch band instead of seed stitch. I also used a stitch count that makes the decreases perfectly even, with no stitches left over each round.

nice!

nice!

Sabrina gets quite vocal when she wants to cuddle on the couch and her daddy won’t oblige.  The other day I plunked down on the couch and tried to appease her.

Mommy,  youre not doing it right!

Mommy, you're not doing it right!

[her life is SO tough …]

still too cold to go for a w-a-l-k

still too cold to go for a w-a-l-k

its so cold it curls my ears!

it's so cold it curls my ears!

4 responses

  1. Hubby was at the LYS with me this weekend and saw a prototype Robin’s hat. He said I needed one. After seeing yours, now I really need one. Garter or seed stitch??!?! decisions…

  2. It is disappointing when yarns are discontinued. A few years back I thought they discontinued the basics in order to produce the ‘eyelash’ yarns. But since eyelash is no longer in style, why not bring back the basics? I have started an ‘unoriginal hat’ with two strands of a long-discontined Patons 100% washable wool. Wonderful – no-longer-produced yarn. Sigh.

  3. I really like the beautiful button accent on your hat. Love the colour you chose too.
    And those lovely dog photos…awww. My favorite! It sounds nasty cold by where you live. Do the dogs wear boots? My dog has boots but I still don’t find them warm enough for the really long walks we enjoy in warmer weather. I am totally inspired by you to knit my dog a balaclava. What a terrific idea and your breed seems to be designed to wear them too. he he.
    Happy knitting!

  4. So cute! Great job!
    Ella looks at me the same way when I try to be a substitute cuddler. I think it’s because we don’t have the bulk of our boys! LOL

Leave a comment

