better, but maybe not

I had ripped back the body of the ruffles cardi to make the armscye deeper by doing another inch or so of raglan increases.  Then I knit down the body, completing the waist shaping.  I did one extra decrease.  Now I’m going to do about 1.5 inches even, then I’ll reverse the waist shaping.  However …

malfunction at the gauge junction?

malfunction at the gauge junction?

The edges of the stocking stitch body are rolling like a mofo.  Once the button bands are knit on they will flatten out, I know.  But just slipping it on and unrolling the edges makes me think it might be too wide in the body.  Oh noes!  I wanted this to be a very fitted cardigan, so I need to do a gauge check and recalculate.

I can’t do it right now because I have to go do a few things – I am in need of perfect shoes for my “Ande’s wedding” outfit.  The shoes I thought I’d use just aren’t working out.  I got them at an insane price, but they must be a half-size too big because I keep walking out of them at the heels.  I’ve tried putting pads in to snug up the fit, but it’s not working.  If all else fails, we’ll have to take a break in the pre-wedding yarn crawls to find me some shoes in Van.

Also have a hair appt (cut and colour – I’m excited) and a physio to work out my rib/neck/shoulder which has been crappy the past few days.  So no knitting until tonight.

3 responses

  1. Ripping out is something that I have great difficulty with. All that hard work, and then its ripped out and you have to start again! Mind you, I think I am going to have to bite the bullet and do just that with my present project. It is just so huge, I can’t see it working or being wearable, so I guess do it now, before I spend any more time going down the wrong path so to speak.
    Love your two hounds, by the way, thanks for sharing the pleasure that they obviously give you. Helen.

Leave a comment

