I didn’t think it would make such a mess

We’ve started to rip out and replace our main bathroom. The big fella started gutting the thing on Friday. He got everything out except the tub.

ugh - nasty!

ugh - nasty!

Old, dated nasty fixtures gone …

at least out of the house, if not gone completely yet

at least out of the house, if not gone completely yet

My dad has been supervising the big fella and giving us a good deal of help and advice.

all gone!

all gone!

That black drain pipe leaning against the wall went from the tub drain and was actually not glued to the connection under the floor – it was just sort of sitting there.  We’ve found all sorts of creative construction and plumbing techniques in place since we’ve owned the house.

Even though there hasn’t been any sanding or drywall work (yet), there is a fine grit all over everything – the floors are filthy, filthy, filthy.  I’ve given up on keeping the house clean.  It will just have to wait until the bathroom is done.  That, by the way, will be when I’m out in Vancouver, so I should come home to a beautiful clean house and new bathroom.

a pooped Apoopinollo

a pooped Apoopinollo

Even though we’ve had bits of snow floating around earlier this week, we still have been able to get out for lots of walks with the poopers.

Sabrina Poopinina

Sabrina Poopinina

Apollo goes mental

Apollo goes mental

then cleans his teefs

then cleans his teefs

I’ve been working on the ruffles cardigan and it’s coming along nicely.  I might even get it done before I leave for Vancouver on Wednesday.  I am ready for my trip, except for the actual packing, and I’m going to really try to pack light this time.  I was really inspired by Laurie’s trip to Spain where she had only two small carry-on bags. I’d like to travel for four nights away without taking 100 lbs of luggage.  I do need to figure out what knitting I’m going to take for the flight.

Brenda, you might want to avert your eyes now.

mmm ... cupcakes!!

mmm ... cupcakes!!

The big fella said the other day we were going to a farewell party when I get back from Vancouver and they were doing potluck.  I said I’d bring a chocolate cake, thinking immediately of the fabulous sour cream chocolate cake recipe I’ve used a couple of times. Then I started thinking about it being a bbq, most likely outdoors and who wants to juggle a piece of cake on a plate, the hassle of cutting and serving it, etc. So I decided to make cupcakes. I baked them for 25 minutes; the recipe made 36 cupcakes and one mini-loaf.

chocolate ganache topping

chocolate ganache topping

I decided to use that great chocolate ganache recipe which is not sweet at all, just chocolatey and creamy. Yummmmm.  So as a trial run, it was a great success and that’s what I’ll bake for the upcoming bbq.

Well, they’re done work for the day and we need to give everything another good vacuum.  And it’s Survivor finale night tonight.  I’m looking forward to seeing how it all ends, especially now that @sshat Coach is gone.  Should be interesting!

2 responses

  1. Its really hard plucking up the courage to renovate or decorate, I find, but well worth it in the end. You are way past the point of no return now. The only way is forward, and it can only get better. How nice to be coming home to a new bathroom AND a clean house. Who is going to be doing the cleaning? Helen

Leave a comment

