Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden

As noted in my previous post, Ande and I spent a wonderful hour or so exploring the Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Chinese Garden last Friday afternoon.  According to the brochure, the garden is so named “to honour the memory of Dr. Sun Yat-Sen, the “father” of modern China.  Dr. Sun played a leading role in the overthrow of the Qing Dynasty in 1911 and was the first president of the republic of China.

at the entrance to the gardens

at the entrance to the gardens

There is a public (free) side to the gardens; we paid the ten bucks and walked through the walled garden.  Both parts of the garden take up almost an entire city block.

China Maple Hall courtyard

China Maple Hall courtyard

There are several halls and courtyards to explore.

courtyard and pond

courtyard and pond

hand-laid pebble courtyard

hand-laid pebble courtyard

Tai Hu limestone rocks from Lake Tai in China

Tai Hu limestone rocks from Lake Tai in China

The “ting” represents humans in their natural setting and forms a focal point for the garden:

city skyline peeks out from behind the gardens wall

city skyline peeks out from behind the garden's wall

the ting from another angle

the ting from another angle

I couldn’t really get a nice shot of the ting.  The bright blue sky was throwing off the metering and not showing the pavilion in its best light.

Japanese gardens have koi, Chinese gardens have turtles!

Japanese gardens have koi, Chinese gardens have turtles!

wouldnt be a Terri & Ande outing if we didnt have our HAMS R US photo opp!

wouldn't be a "Terri & Ande" outing if we didn't have our HAMS R US photo opp!

There are more photos of the beautiful garden in my Vancouver Trip flickr album; click through if you want to see them.

What struck me (and I think Ande commented on this, too) was that the garden was tranquil.  One really didn’t hear a lot of city traffic and noise from outside the walls.  It would be a lovely place to spend a few hours on a lazy day.  The public (free) side of the garden/park is about twice as large as the walled area we explored.  Gorgeous!

I’ve done my laundry and Sunday chore of ironing the big fella’s clothes for the week, now I might put in a bit of time on those socks I’d started a while ago.  I’m going to finish them off before I even consider what I’d like to do with all the yummy yarn I brought home from my travels.

Leave a comment

