Socks are done and I didn’t run out of yarn!

Last night I finished the socks knit from the sock blank:

plenty left over!

plenty left over!

I was concerned about the yardage because I made some men’s socks a while ago and ended up with just a yard or so of yarn.  The socks were knit in a harris tweed pattern and the leg was a bit longer, so I guess that’s why I used up so much more yarn.

The socks are in the wash right now (well, the dryer, actually) because they had an interesting texture – sort of like Persian lamb or poodle fur from the gentle kinks in the yarn.  The yarn label says wahsing and blocking will remove the crimp in the stitches.

I like the way the colours knit up!

I like the way the colours knit up!

.

Sabrina was ambivalent ...

Sabrina was ambivalent ...

Thanks, Ande for the sock blank! The big fella is happy he got some new socks and I enjoyed working from it!

I noticed a week or two ago on the Rav Elann Yarns board that Elann was selling some Regia sock yarn at a ridiculous price – of course I got some!

quick and dirty photo

quick and dirty photo

The colour is not quite right in the photo; I just took a quick shot while it was all still in plastic.  The two turqouises are different shades, the four dark skeins are a chocolate brown, there’s a blue/black ragg yarn and the four raspberry ones are a little less shreiking fucsia than they appear.

Yesterday after our p.m. walk, I looked over from where I was sitting and saw this:

what the ???

what the ???

Further examination revealed:

a pooped out pooper!

a pooped out pooper!

Reader Katharina asked for a video of Apollo when he goes mental.  I’ve been trying, but I haven’t been able to capture him in his mental glory!  Here’s a snippet:

Apollo will stand in the middle of the living room, then he’ll bark a few times (at which we encourage him to go mental) then he’ll grab a stuffie and slam it down on the floor; he’ll slam his front arms legs and paws down on the carpet.  Then he’ll bark a few times more, stand around looking, then he’ll grab the stuffie and toss it up in the air, etc.  Sometimes he’ll run in a circle, too.  I’ll keep trying to capture it on vid!

So now I have nothing on my needles.  I spent some time last night collecting, then culling and organizing all the knitting patterns I’ve printed out and had stashed.  The ones that I’m planning to use in the near future I’ve kept with my knitting gear, the remainder have been filed away in the den.

One response

  1. Aw, Apollo is a sweet guy. I suppose he really needs to be in the mood to go totally mental…wild life photography is not so easy. Thanks for the video.

    The socks are great. I am fascinated at how the pattern turned out knitted up. Great colors.

Leave a comment

