Summer might actually be here

because yesterday was 31°C and we got to turn on our new a/c for the first time.  We had central air installed last October when they installed the new furnace.  It’s quite glorious.  The a/c, not the weather.  I’m not going to complain about the heat anymore because I can just stay in my nice cool house for the rest of the summer!  Ha!

keeping out of the heat

keeping out of the heat

We’ve been taking the dogs out as usual early in the a.m. but on the weekend we didn’t go for late afternoon walks, we postponed it until well in the evening when it had started to cool down a bit.  They get overheated so easily, it’s more enjoyable for them if we wait.  They still dashed out into the yard for a pee before supper (and didn’t linger due to the thunderstorm rumbling up on us).

lazing around

lazing around

After a couple of days of nothing on the needles, I got my pattern pile all squared away and started a Clapotis with some of the beautiful Noro Maiko that I got recently in Vancouver. This is gorgeous yarn – wool, silk and mohair blend. It’s labeled as a dk weight, but I think it’s a little finer than that.  I did a bit of swatching and ended up using a 5 mm needle.  For the last Clapotis I did, I had used sock yarn and 4.5 mm needles, so I thought with the dk weight I’d use about a 6 mm, but it just didn’t swatch up that nice.  I want this to be as soft and drapey as the sock yarn one.

set up rows and beginning of increases

set up rows and beginning of increases

colour #104, a lovely turquoise

colour #104, a lovely turquoise

I also browsed through the Rav and found a lot of intriguing pattern ideas for some of the FAB yarn I brought back from Vancouver, so I might start something else once I get Clapotis a bit further underway.

I added some more food blog links to the Recipe page and found some new things to try. Last night I made that chicken chow mein and it was soooo good. I didn’t use the snow peas this time, though. The broccoli, while not really belonging in chow mein, sure gives a nice dash of colour and crunch to it, so we like it.

Leave a comment

