Sundays are good baking days

so I made quite possibly the best brownies I’ve ever had:

dont they look good?

don't they look good?

The recipe is here. It’s put together a little bit different than other recipes I’ve tried, but I really like it!

just waiting for me to take a big bite!

just waiting for me to take a big bite!

I used bittersweet chocolate squares so reduced the sugar by 3 Tbs.  I used Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate chips and pecans.  I baked them for 32 minutes and they were perfectly done – slightly firm around the edges and moist and soft in the center.

There’s been some activity in the back yard – remember it went from having a 2′ high 16 x 24′ sand box when we bought the house, to:

sandbox and most of the sand removed

sandbox and most of the sand removed

As it was too late in the season to get sod, we had to leave it until the next sod season (June) but we didn’t want the dogs in there all the time, so:

we covered it with a tarp

we covered it with a tarp

And finally on Thursday and Friday they came with dirt and sod:

nice and lush - and makes the rest of the lawn look like crap!

nice and lush - and makes the rest of the lawn look like crap!

Oh yeah, we also took that tree down last fall – it was some wacky crab apple tree that just attracted wasps and dropped rancid fruit all over the lawn.  We’ll scratch up the soil there and put some seed down.  The big fella did some patching on the front lawn and it came back quite nice.

I’m in the decreasing rows of the clapotis.  I think it will block out to be about 24″ wide and maybe 70″ long … we’ll see!

2 responses

  1. O hai. If you open your door some morning and find a gigantic wicker basket on your stoop with a note pinned to it, don’t be surprised to find my Nick and the kids tucked in fast asleep in there. Pretty much the perfect yard, and oh, those brownies…

Leave a comment

