more socks

I dug out some Noro Silk Garden sock yarn that I’d tried and set aside. I was mislead by the label “sock yarn” and thought it was going to be like my Regia, etc. I used my usual cast on and needle combination and that was way too big and too heavy. I ripped it out and let it simmer in the stash for a couple of months.

After some research on the Rav I discovered that many others had similar experiences.  So I started another pair of socks using 3 mm needles and a cast on of 56 stitches.  I’ve got the ribbing done on one sock and about halfway on the other, then I’ll have to decide if I’m going to do just a simple rib or something more textured.

I also wanted to start another pair of Old Shale Socks but couldn’t decide what yarn to use. I was thinking of using a solid colour for the cuff, heels, toes and the variegated for the “body” of the sock, but now I’m not sure. I have some blue variegated Trekking I want to use.

Here’s a fun video of things to do on/in an airplane bathroom (don’t worry, it’s completely G-rated!).  I couldn’t figure out how to embed a Flash video, so click here!

Leave a comment

