insert post title here

Yeah, I couldn’t think of a catchy title. So sue me! 😉

We’ve been keeping busy around here.  On Friday I went to Saskatoon to take my dad to the airport (and maybe a little bit of shopping and lunching was done …).  Can you believe that I didn’t set foot in a yarn store?  My sister wanted to go to Michael’s, so I was looking at yarn there and went to ask about the coupon from the flyer – I explained to the half-wit clerk that I was from out of town and hadn’t received the flyer, and she said they didn’t give them out at the till any more and that I had to go home, go online and print it off.  Uh, I just told you that I was from OUT OF TOWN.  Grrr.  She pissed me off, so I put back the sock yarn and decided against the Patons Classic Wool in “leaf green” that I was thinking of buying a sweater’s worth.  Idiots.

someone got a new collar

someone got a new collar

At lunch we tried the feature dessert, which was campfire s’mores.  I found this recipe on epicurious that I think is pretty close to what we had. It was served with a chocolate coulis-type drizzle and mini scoops of vanilla and chocolate ice cream. It was very, very good!

yes, servile human, what would you like?!

yes, servile human, what would you like?!

The weekend was pretty quiet.  We had a fair bit of rain off and on (and started again Monday night) and poured ridiculously until about 7 last night, at which time we got the poopers out for a good brisk walk.

I didnt get a new collar ... but I dont care!

I didn't get a new collar ... but I don't care!

I did a bit of knitting:

Old Shale pattern, Regia and Trekking yarn

Old Shale pattern, Regia and Trekking yarn

I have both heels turned, and this one past the gusset decreases.  Such a cute pattern!

While looking at some recipe sites, I found a new brownie recipe to try:

Pattys Decadent Brownies

Patty's Decadent Brownies

Click through here for the recipe. I made the double batch to fill a 9×13 pan. I made just the single batch of the icing. It’s nice – it’s not too sweet and I put a thin layer on when the brownies were still warm. The recipe doesn’t have any baking powder or soda, so I expected it to be quite heavy and dense. But it’s not!

This recipe uses cocoa not melted chocolate, so it’s not as dark brown as other ones I’ve made.  I also was a bit sceptical about the whipping cream added to the batter, but it turned out very tasty and chocolatey.  Yummm!

I had a few pics on the camera that I hadn’t uploaded:

LOOK! Behind you!! A serial killer!

.

Happy Apollo!

Happy Apollo!

.

happy and handsome!

happy and handsome!

.

yeah, yeah, Burt Reynolds eat your heart out!

yeah, yeah, Burt Reynolds eat your heart out!

(Click here if you don’t know what I’m talking about.)

zzzz

zzzz

.

always time to cuddle with her daddy

always time to cuddle with her daddy

5 responses

  1. I love your dogs, they look so happy and in such great condition. Just out of interest, what do you feed them (I know it wont be available here in UK, but still wonder) and in what quantities over the day? Helen.

Leave a comment

