it’s 10:45 p.m. – do you know where your blog is?

Today was another busy day to wrap up the busy week.  I didn’t seem to actually have a lot to do, but with visiting friends, running errands and doing things around the house, the week flew by.  I just finished baking a chocolate cake and it’s in the fridge right now so the ganache can set up.  It’s a bit of a train wreck – I was trimming the sides so the three layers would be even and it’s sort of leaning to one side … ah, it will still taste good!

Sabrina is airborne!

Sabrina is airborne!

Last Sunday was a bit cooler and we enjoyed some silliness in the yard late one afternoon.  The big fella had thrown the squeaky kong up in the air and Sabrina jumped up to meet it on its descent.

Apollo prepares to buzz the tower

Apollo prepares to buzz the tower

Apollo absolutely loves “buzzing the tower” – he’ll be racing around and come flying at me and just at the last second he’ll brush by me and carry on.

whatever, dude ...

"whatever, dude ..." Sabrina observes Apollo spazz out

After all the running amok, it’s time to rest:

pretty Sabrina

pretty Sabrina

.

handsome is as handsome does

handsome is as handsome does

(I never did understand that … Forrest Gump!)  I love Sabrina sacked out and dead to the world behind him.

its hard work being that gorgeous

it's hard work being that gorgeous

.

Apollo, youve got a goat in your armpit!

Apollo, you've got a goat in your armpit!

.

Sabrina, you have a sheep ... oh, never mind

Sabrina, you have a sheep ... oh, never mind

Earlier in the week we picked up a glider for the deck.  All last summer we talked about using the deck more, maybe picking up a little more seating, but we never did anything about it.  So we found the glider complete with cushions and throw pillows.  It’s very comfortable.  Our deck is covered, so we didn’t need a canopy like you get on a swing.

and a little side table and the bamboo shades are new

and a little side table and the bamboo shades are new

We also picked up a couple of roll-up bamboo shades for that side of the deck.  That is west-facing, so after about 4 in the afternoon the sun comes blasting in there.  The blinds were quite effective in keeping the deck in the shade.

the other side of the deck

the other side of the deck

Behind the two chairs is the rest of the deck, the french doors that go into the kitchen, the bbq, and the steps down to the grass.  We’ve spent a lot of time out there the past few afternoons and evenings.  (And yes, the thermometer is +30°C but it reads a little hot on the deck for some reason.  It was really quite comfortable.)

Apollo and Sabrina are more comfortable if we put their beds out there.  King Apollo just laid there and surveyed his domain.

Yes, peasant?

Yes, peasant?

.

oh, hello mommy!

oh, hello mommy!

I did find some time during the week to a) rip out the Silk Garden socks; b) cast on for another Not-so-shrunken cardigan and c) cast on some Fortissima Colori socks.

The silk garden socks were just not doing it for me.  My gauge was too loose for socks.  When I started them with 2.25 mm needles, my gauge was very tight and stiff and I had too many stitches.  I went up to a 3 mm and it was just too loose and flimsy.  I couldn’t see the point in making socks that would wear through in a few wearings because they were knit too loosely.  I ripped it out and will let the yarn percolate in the stash until I figure out what to do with it.

I got some Regia Silk 6-ply when Elann had it on sale a while ago, with a view to making myself a ruffled cardigan.  I started that sweater, too and have done a couple of inches on the neck line and upper body.  The silk makes a nice fabric.  I think I may knit on the ruffles this go round.

7 responses

  1. Great action shots! I take it you are enjoying your new camera.

    My dogs don’t move fast. We could probably make do with a pin hole camera, lol.

  2. Wow! Love that shot of Sabrina! Strider was much more of an Apollo-type dog.

    Your deck looks really nice. We have 2 (front and rear) but have never considered painting either of them. Never mind, we’re not getting much use out of them anyway this year – rain, rain and more of it. Sounds like we’re in for a thunderstorm soon.

  3. The midair Sabrina may be the best action photo of a goofy grey I’ve ever seen; I have to show Nick, he’s a huge Sabrina fan. 🙂
    I love Apollo’s “buzzing the tower,” the perfect name for it. He is so damned handsome.

  4. LOVE that shot of Sabrina – you have to enter that in a photo contest or something!

    Beautiful deck. Wish I was there! Hope you are having a wonderful summer. 🙂

  5. Apollo looks like a true racing grey in pics 2 and 3. I can just picture him in action! He seems so white and bright since you bathed him.

    Of course, Sabrina is graceful and gorgeous. Goes without saying.

    We have a screened gazebo I practically live in. Sometimes we sleep out there too. Yea, that’s the good life.

Leave a comment

