jeans no more

Ever since seeing the cute jeans-to-skirt conversion that Ande did here I’ve wanted to give it a go. I googled around and found several pages with instructions for doing so, but many of them seemed too fiddly for my tastes. I then came across the Savvy Seams tutorial. It’s more of a method than an actual pattern.

completed front

completed front

.

completed back

completed back

I think I miscalculated in my cutting a bit – where you cut off extra fabric from the back of the crotch/legs – and so the piece I had from the bottom of the legs wasn’t long enough to use without showing the  hem from the bottom of the leg.  I still think it’s a cute little skirt for running around town doing errands, etc.

ever helpful

ever helpful

Sabrina was a BIG HELP when I was working on this project.  She’s keeping that cardboard cutting mat from blowing away.  There were also several frantic texts to Ande for on-the-spot sewing advice …

front view

front view

.

back view

back view

The instructions on Savvy Seams gives the option of using four panels, but I just used two; front and back.  I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out!  I opted to not do a “proper” hem on the bottom (thought it would be too bulky) but did a row of stitching about 1/4″ from the edge that will stop it from fraying in the wash (I’m told by my sewing guru.)

It being a long weekend, the big fella and I were so happily looking forward to going nowhere.  We both agreed that there was no where we wanted to go that would be more comfortable for us (4) than just staying at home.  We had a lazy brunch on the deck this morning:

bbq bacon - yummy

bbq bacon - yummy

.

Apollo dreams of bacon

Apollo dreams of bacon

.

Sabrinas dreams of bacon have been crushed

Sabrina's dreams of bacon have been crushed

They each got one tiny little morsel of bacon (no fat attached) and that was it.  “Hmph, may as well go back inside now.”

5 responses

  1. Terri I am what I call a silent reader, I have commented maybe twice in the years I have read your blog. Your tutorial on socks was the best I have seen. Now the reason I am writing is there is a very funny Greyhound pic at ihasahotdog.com It made me think of Apollo.

  2. The skirt is fab and so retro. I see the technique for making one has been greatly improved since we started this business in the 70’s. It looks great! AND I am happy to see so many people sewing these days. It must be the weather.

Leave a comment

