a little sumpin’ sumpin’ in the mail

For my upcoming birthday, but arrived in time to take on a little trip next month:

a 55 - 250 mm zoom lens for my Canon DSLR

a 55 - 250 mm zoom lens for my Canon DSLR

It zooms in really close:

lazy boy

lazy boy

.

stealthy

stealthy

I didn’t get a chance to try it outside until later in the evening when the sun was dipping down:

I think one part of her body must be in focus

I think one part of her body must be in focus

.

even at a distance hes handsome!

even at a distance he's handsome!

.

and hes down

and he's down

The zoom lets me stand relatively safely off the flight path but still get some action shots.  The photos should be better during daylight because the lens isn’t as “quick” as my regular (18 – 55 mm) lens (i.e. you need more light, so a slower shutter speed to capture the light) so the full daylight “action” shots should be much clearer.

It’s interesting to note that the span of focal lengths of digital zoom lenses is represented slightly different than 35 mm format.  When I had a 35 mm Nikon F60, I got a 28-80 mm lens instead of just the standard 50 mm lens.  When we were shopping for the Canon Digital Rebel XSi, I was surprised to discover that the same lens in digital format was an 18-55 mm lens.  And the same with a ~70-300 mm lens would be the 55-250 that I just got.

Ah, I sense your eyes starting to glaze over.  Here’s a handy link which explains it all.

Still working on that second sleeve and thinking about button bands and neck band for the Truffles cardi.

Apollo needs to ask the flight attendant for a better seat

Apollo needs to ask the flight attendant for a better seat

2 responses

Leave a comment

