A do-nothing day

because it’s my birthday! Yay! I could be vacuuming and dusting and such other glorious occupations, but I’m not. I slept in with Sabrina, I read for a while, now I’m blogging and Rav-surfing and knitting.  I do have to go out after lunch and get some groceries, etc. for the week, and then we’re going out for supper with the fam later.

Fortissima #8002

Fortissima #8002

(Ignore the Apollo hair and cookie crumbs on the carpet – see above about no vacuuming today!)

I finished off those socks last night.  I quite like that colourway – I didn’t realize I had so much Fortissima/Socka in my yarn stash.

So I pulled out another ball and started another pair:

Fortissima #2417

Fortissima #2417

The colourway has blue/purple/turquoise in a tweedy sort of ply.  I’ll have to see if I can find some online because I haven’t a clue as to how these are going to knit up.  I’m making men’s socks, I think they’re dark enough and the purple shouldn’t be too “out there”.

[oh, I drifted away there for a while, looking on the Rav for projects made with this exact yarn.  I did find a colour swatch via images.google for that particular sock yarn that shows it as colourway 2417 “indigo” and it’s sort of a variegated non-pattern colourway.  I think it will look fine.]

Oh, I did find one pair of socks on the Rav. I like it!  (personal rant – why don’t people put colour #s on their project notes on the Rav?!  ?Why?!  It would be more informative that “blue”.)

I am liking that style of colourway, I don’t know what it’s called.  I have some more Meilenweit Mega Boots which is described as a “space dyed ragg yarn”.  I also found that Kroy has put out a very nice looking Kroy Socks FX which is along the same type of dyeing. I might have to get some of that.  I have a lot (cough) of sock yarn and a lot of it is self-patterning fair isle, stripes, etc.  But sometimes I would like to use eithe a solid or semi-solid colour if I’m trying out a texture pattern of some type.

As I mentioned yesterday, it was a lot cooler.  The dogs enjoyed parking themselves on the lounging area and basking in the sun:

comfy!

comfy!

.

show yer belly to the sun!

show yer belly to the sun!

.

Apollo amazed at his good fortune in having TWO beds upon which to lounge

Apollo amazed at his good fortune in having TWO beds upon which to lounge

So I’d been conducting an experiment on my stainless steel kitchen appliances. When we first got the new fridge and stove (and microwave and dishwasher door insert) I bought a big jug of CeramaBryte s/s cleaner.  I thought it did a good job, but it annoyed me that if you touched the door or handle with a drop of water on your hand, it would make a smudge that you’d have to buff away.  I switched to Gleemit which worked about the same.  Actually, I think I needed more elbow grease with the Gleemit, and it didn’t seem to last any longer than the other stuff.

I googled around and found some information on using vinegar as a household cleaner.  There were conflicting reports on whether one could use it full-strength on s/s as a cleaner or not.  Some said to mix it into a paste with baking soda, etc.  Also, other sites said to not use anything but warm soapy water to clean s/s.  I tried both vinegar straight, and I tried soapy water.  They did an okay job, but not spectacular.  I found the finish on the s/s was dull and flat and it didn’t really stay cleaner any longer than the other methods.  The vinegar and soap/water might work good in an industrial kitchen where it’s shiny s/s and not brushed like my appliances.  Like my kitchen cart; either method worked well on that, but I wouldn’t want to use a mineral-based cleaner/polish like Gleemit or CeramaBryte.  So I’ve resolved myself to going back to the CeramaBryte and having buffing cloths on hand to keep it shiny!

So I was going through the recorded programs on our dvr, in preparation for the new season of everything on tv.  I deleted a bunch of stuff, but way down at the end was “The Thin Man”.  I watched some of it.  They’re a cute couple together:

Myrna Loy and William Powell worked together something like 14 times.  Their chemistry was undeniable!

whut?!

whut?!

5 responses

Leave a comment

