more like “do-nothing week”

Technically it still is “the week of celebration” but I really intended to do more than I ended up doing.  Oh well.  The vacuuming can wait until I get to it later today.

We had a nice family supper out on my b-day, then peanut butter fudge cake back at my mom and dad’s.  It’s a different recipe than the one I made for my sister’s b-day, but very delicious!  I was stuffed.  Got some nice gifts; one of which is a cookie scoop, so in the next few days I’ll have to try that out and see how it goes.

I baked those great brownies to take to the bbq last night and they really are (it’s unanimous) the best brownies EVER.

dive in!

dive in!

This time I used the microwave to melt the chocolate squares, butter and chocolate chips.  Last time I used a glass bowl over simmering water and was afraid of the steam getting in the chocolate and seizing it.  So microwave at 40% this time, stir, repeat.  Yum.

I wanted to frost them for the bbq, so I used this fudge glaze I found somewhere online:

1 c sugar, 1/3 c milk, 1/3 c butter.  Bring to boil, boil 1 minute.  Immediately dump in 1 c chocolate chips; stir until melted and smooth.  Pour over brownies or cake, smooth with spatula.  Sets up as it cools.

I didn’t let it boil the full minute because my saucepan was small and once it started to boil, it was in danger of boiling over.  I think it needs that to dissolve the sugar granules – it wasn’t as smooth as it could have been.  Still delicious, though!

I put a little time in on the Siamese Knittens:

beady eyed beast

beady eyed beast

Hmm, looking at that photo reminds me I need to pay attention to my tension when I’m stranding – the picot edged cuff has the same number of stitches as the “body” of the mitten yet looks much larger.

I got the totally stole the idea of using beads as eyes from viewing Michelle’s project for the same pattern.  It was a little fiddly getting the beads on but it worked.  I found some info on Knitty about knitting with beads and different methods to incorporate them into your stitches.  What I ended up doing was knitting to the stitch (from the previous round) that I wanted the bead to be on, took the stitch off the needle, threaded sewing thread through the stitch, then threaded (with needle) through the bead, then pulled snugly until the bead slid over the knit stitch.  Then I squooshed it down as much as I could, then proceeded to knit that stitch as the graph dictated.  I probably could have found slightly smaller beads maybe with a bigger opening, but this was all that WalMart had to offer and I didn’t want to wait for online shopping.

two heads are better than one

two heads are better than one

Yesterday was again very hot (Wed was 30°) so we kept the blinds closed and the cool air in.  It gets quite cold at night, so we open the windows and cool down the house so we don’t have to have the a/c running all the time.  This morning was quite cool and today is not supposed to be as hot.  And we might get some rain tomorrow, which would be nice.

I received two more dvds from Zip.ca yesterday, so I should look at those. The vacuuming can wait a bit longer …

5 responses

    • I dunno. I looked at some other mittens and they seemed (with the picot edge, at least) to do the same thing so who knows.

      Re 300 lbs, I’m on my way there! 😉

  1. I am working on the sweater for my new greyhound. I have finished the gusset and am ready for the short row shaping. How many rows do I do for the the shaping before I cast on the belly flap. Thanks

Leave a comment

