cookies on the horizon

Taking a brief break in my “day of rest” chores.  Kitchen cleaned, laundry ongoing, some vacuuming done, blah blah blah.  I have some butter sitting out coming to room temperature and am going to bake cookies as soon as I’m done this entry.

Odessa completed

Odessa completed

Last night I finished knitting up Odessa (Rav link).  I’m quite happy with the hat.  I love the swirls!

swirly crown decreases

swirly crown decreases

The pattern calls for dk-weight yarn, but I used the Mirasol Qina which is more a light worsted.  I used 4 mm needles and a cast on of 100 stitches.  The pattern repeat is 10 stitches.  I knit to a depth of 5.5 or 5.75″ and then began the crown decreases.  Because I had the 100 st. cast on, the last few rounds of crown decreases ended up with an extra stitch, so I just knit that.  I think I had 10 stitches at the end to draw the yarn through and fasten off.  My ssk decrease was slip as if to knit, slip as if to purl, then put back on left needle and knit together.  I did not use the beads as the pattern calls for.

fab!

fab!

I will definitely make this hat again – what a great pattern!

One response

Leave a comment

