baking is hard work

I made another double batch – this time sugar cookies.  What a lot of work!  Make the dough, chill the dough, roll and cut out the dough, chill it, bake it, cool it, decorate it.

I used this Joy of Baking sugar cookie recipe and also made the accompanying Royal Icing (with meringue powder).  The double batch made about 3 1/2 dozen cookies.

waiting for the icing to dry

I used the tree, gingerbread man, snowflake and star cookie cutters.

the colours are somewhat disturbing

I was using gel/paste food colouring and it’s a lot more intense than I anticipated.  The trees are more of a green than the turquoise.  I have no idea how I ended up with royal blue for the gingerbread men.

white stars

The snowflakes are not white, they’re more of an icy blue.

they better taste good!

I read a few different methods of decorating the cookies – the fancy way is to use thicker royal icing and pipe all around the edges of the cookie to provide a border; then thin the icing out and “flood” it to cover the surface.  The other way was to use a thin icing and simply dip the cookies into the icing.  This way was messy, but quick.

the alarmingly green trees

Finished my list of “to do’s” for today; have another long one for tomorrow!

One response

  1. Those cookies were very tasty, BUT, they were missing sanding sugar, or sprinkles, or non pariels. I think you should make a second batch with the additional deocrations and bring them over soon. hehehehehhe

Leave a comment

