got my recipe-fu back!

And how!  We had a couple of steaks in the fridge waiting for supper tonight.  I came across a couple of recipes that I wanted to try.

1/2 rib steak, Crash Hot Potatoes & Harvest Salad

OMG – it was so good.  The potatoes are from The Pioneer Woman.  Make them.  You won’t regret it.  Soooo good.  The salad was a mix, I can’t remember what brand, but it’s an “autumn harvest” one with dried cranberries and pepitas (pumpkin seeds) and a pumpkin vinagrette dressing.  So good.

To top off the meal, I had a box of this:

yummmmy

which played a crucial part in dessert:

Molten Lava Cake w/ whipped cream and raspberries

I found many different recipes for lava cakes, but tried this one. It seemed the least fussy.  The baking time is 10 minutes.  I checked at 10 min and it seemed not quite set around the edges so I left it in another 2.5 minutes.  Well.  I should have taken it out at the 10 min.  Instead of having the molten lava oozing out, mine were more like molten magma.  Geologic considerations aside, it was DAMN good!  Will definitely make these again, as well.  I think the little cakes baked a bit longer once you get them out of the oven, so next time I will pull them at 10 minutes for sure.

So good and I’m so full.  Hmm, I wonder if this sort of thing has anything to do with how I’m not losing any weight even though I’ve been running on the dreadmill these past three months?!  Although I did see a show (X-Weighted) on the weekend where this heavy girl (~200) ran a triathlon in Calgary and did really well!

Speaking of the dreadmill, after finishing the Couch to 5K program, I was following a Running Room Program for a few weeks.  The last workout I just wasn’t feeling any satisfaction and was perhaps a little bored.  I’ve re-evalutated and will be doing something different.  But that’s for another post.

Got the Must Have Cardigan underway.  I spent a while this afternoon translating all the different cable/texture panels into a row by row spreadsheet so I can clip along without flipping back and forth to all these different instructions.  It’s looking good, so far!

2 responses

  1. So…. I think everyone should have gone to your house last night for dinner instead of my house. We had Costco lasagne, and while it was very very superior to most store bought lasagne, it was not steak and pioneer potatoes AND lava cakes!!!!!

Leave a comment

