near fail turned into WIN

I had my eye on this recipe for a while and was going to make it on the weekend. But then when I read the recipe I noticed that the custard layer contained RAW egg yolks.  Blech.  Not in my house.  So when I was out getting groceries yesterday, I got some Bird’s Custard Powder. That solved that problem. So this aft I went ahead and made the cake.

The recipe was a little vague in some ways (mixing method, assembly).  As I was mixing it, I was thinking it wasn’t a lot of batter for a 9×13 pan.  Even after I folded in the egg whites, the batter was pretty sparse.  But I went ahead and put it in the oven.  Luckily I had enough sense to keep a close eye on it in the oven.  It wasn’t rising much at all, and instead of baking it the 30 minutes, I took it out at 18.

After it cooled, I decided to make a layer cake out of it.  I put the cooled custard in between the layers and on top.  Then I followed the recipe for the chocolate topping.

yummy poppy seed cake

Save!  Win!  Two thumbs up from both the big fella and me.  The Mennonite Girls Can Cook blog has some great recipes, but they also have some like this that are either not posted correctly or else a lot of the recipe is open to your own personal interpretation.  I suspect it should have been a 9×9 pan, not 9×13.

quick shot of the Must Have Cardi back

For some reason, I’m finding this easy to fly along knitting this time.   I’ve put in some waist shaping and I’ll make the body about 2″ longer than the pattern calls for.

Also learned today:  pork shoulder picnic roast is NOT a ham.

One response

  1. I check your blog everyday. Not a stalker but I love to read about the dogs, knitting and food – all favorites of mine. Great job. Love it all.

Leave a comment

