I got nothing

I’ve completed the left front and very close to completing the right front of the CP Non-Hoodie.  It’s coming along nicely.  The Cascade 220 is really a nice yarn.  I’m still looking at buttons and haven’t found anything that grabs me yet.

My knee has been bothering me a lot and I haven’t been on the treadmill since Monday.  I probably shouldn’t have gone then, either.  I have an appointment on Tuesday to see what the doctor says.  We went and looked at elliptical trainers today.  I tried a few out and it didn’t hurt my knee, so that might be the direction I go.  I’ve got to do -some- form of cardio!

I saw this video and couldn’t stop laughing (and replaying):

Tonight I tried this recipe for an Apple Galette. Hmph. Pastry is SO not my forté.  I followed the directions and used my food processor to make the dough.  Pastry.  Whatever.  I used 5 large Granny Smith apples.  I don’t think I rolled the pastry thin enough, because mine didn’t have enough to fold over as much as the one in the linked recipe.  I had a hard time rolling it out without it cracking apart around the outer edges.  Also, because I used 5 big apples, I had quite a pile of apples and it took forever for them to cook.  Don’t get me wrong, it tasted really good, but instead of the 35 minutes baking time, I ended up baking it for 55 minutes (covered it with foil so the top didn’t burn) to get the apples tender.  I do not think any of this was the recipe, it was all me.  I would probably make this again but roll the pastry thinner and maybe use fewer apples.

One response

  1. Happens to me all the time…not enough pastry for my fillings (I tend to like LOTS of filling). You can try what I do…make 1 1/2 times the recipe for the pastry. It won’t cost you that much more, and any left-over pastry can be used to bake a couple of small turn-overs.

    (PS: Congrats to your Canadian hockey team for a well-played match against my American hockey team. Well-deserved.)

Leave a comment

