It’s not looking good for the lemur

Sabrina has eviscerated it one too many times:

hellllp meeeee ....

There have been little white bits of lemur guts all over the house.  I have just been stuffing them back into its carcass, but I think the wound is gaping enough that I need to do some surgery.  The other side is pretty much the same, gaping hole, stuffing falling out.

I had hoped to have these socks finished long before now.  The big fella was away at a conference for four days and I wanted to put in some knitting time, but work and other things got in the way.

almost to the toe decreases

It’s weird how much brighter they show up in a flash pic.  They are soooo dark to work on.  I’ll be glad when I’m finished them.  Then I’ll have to start a pair for ME!

Last week I tried out a bread recipe from the Betty Crocker Best Bread Machine Cookbook that I got from the library.  It was pretty good – really, can freshly baked bread be anything but?!  I used all-purpose flour but wanted to experiment and try it with “bread” flour.  Apparently there’s more gluten or something in “bread” flour and it has a different weight per cup than a/p flour.  So the other day I tried it again with the bread flour.  It seemed to be a lighter texture and it rose quite a bit more than the a/p version. Here’s the recipe, strangely found on the Livestrong website.

The weather continues to be not the greatest.  Still managed to get out for a cold bike ride the other day and some good walks with the poopers.  We’ve had smatterings of rain showers, but no deluges, so hopefully it will warm up soon!

2 responses

  1. We have the Robert Rose “Best Bread Machine” cookbooks. They’re made for the Canadian market.
    We mostly have success with them.

    I wish there were a website like Ravelry for cooks.

  2. It would sure be a shame if you couldn’t save the Lemur because Sabrina DOESN’T HAVE ENOUGHT TOYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment

