Good Eats!

Ugh – so stuffed!  But it was sooooo good!

Red Chili Chicken with Rice and Beans

I’d had my eye on this recipe for a while and tonight I finally had the opportunity to make it. It’s all made in one skillet, so easy peasey.  I used 3 chicken breasts, probably a little more than the recipe called for, and I added in a cup or so of corn.  Really tasty.  It wasn’t overly spicy, just nice flavour.

In between helping my sister this afternoon with her computer, I made this:

The FrankenCake!

It ain’t purty, but damn tasty!

I had made this recipe before (and if I recall correctly it was just as homely). Edit – just checked my records and in fact the last time I made this was for my sister’s birthday, and it looked WAY better than this.

I baked it in a 9×13 pan then cut it in half to layer.  I keep forgetting that this pan always makes the center of the cake fall in a little (probably should have left it in the oven an extra 2 or 3 minutes).  The cake itself is quite soft and the corner kept collapsing on me when I was doing the crumb coat with the icing and then adding the ganache.  Instead of using the chocolate glaze in the recipe, I used just a simple ganache:

1/4 c + 1Tbs heavy cream
3 oz bittersweet chocolate
1 Tbs room temp butter

Chop chocolate and place in bowl. In small saucepan, heat cream until boiling. Pour over chocolate; let sit about 1 minute. Beginning in the center, stir with a spatula until an emulsion is formed. Slowly stir until all chocolate is melted and is silky smooth. Stir in butter at end. Should be glossy and smooth. Use immediately.

I cut off the problematic corner.

I am pretty hamfisted when it comes to the dainty intricacies of “cake decorating”.  I followed the instructions to keep chilling the cake in between all the different steps and that worked well.

the payoff!

It tastes soo good – but you definitely need a glass of milk to go with it.  Oh, I also only made a half-recipe of the icing and it was plenty enough.  I think if I did a 3 layer (or did this cake but split the layers to make it a 4 layer) I’d need the full recipe.  Two thumbs  up here!

I need one of these

I had a really busy day today – I could have used a nap!  Going to turn this computer off and work on my mitten.  (It actually was snowing at one point late this afternoon!)

Sabrina has the right idea

4 responses

  1. snow..?!
    ooooh that rice casserole thingy looks goooooood. Your cake looks delicious too but chocolate hates me. Just as well.
    Sabrina looks so happy again today.

  2. Yes I remember that cake! it was scrumpdilicious!!!!! and it looked much nicer than this one. I think you baked it in a bundt pan? anyway, doesn’t really matter what it looks like as long as it tastes good. I want the chicken rice and bean recipe please.

    • The recipe for the chicken dish is linked right up there ^^ underneath the picture!

      No, your cake was a layered one. And yeah, damn good!

Leave a comment

