mostly food blog

and not much knitting. I had a couple of busy days and didn’t get caught up yet.  I actually went for two days without anything on the needles. In desperation I cast on for another Turn-a-Square hat (but using my modified pattern). The yarn I’m using is some Cascade 220 Heathers in an olivey-browny and some Noro Silk Garden with brown, turquoise and purple.

Turn-a-Square #3

The main colour is much richer and deeper than the photo shows.  I’ll have to get the macro box out to get a true-to-life colour photo.

I want to get another pair of socks on the go, and probably will do some sort of shawl with sock yarn.  I was thinking about the Traveling Woman (Rav link here).  I’ll have to go through my Rav faves list again to make sure.

temperatures fit for a princess

After a stretch of very hot, humid and thunderstormy weather, today was delightfully cool and breezy.  We walked the dogs 5K during the day and the big fella and I rode 11 miles on our bikes this a.m.  We had a few errands to do, then when we got back I did some baking.

When I was at the library the other day to pick up some books they had on hold for me, I had a quick look through the cookbook section.  I came home with a few interesting books, but one in particular was a Martha Stewart one.  I disdain all things Martha, but I really liked how this was laid out and it had some recipes I’d like to try.

Surprise Cookies

These are the Surprise Cookies.  Now I would tweak a few things next time I make them.  I started using a scoop as instructed, but then just went to using a soup spoon.  I will make them a bit smaller and more uniform.  I didn’t use the frosting recipe; instead I made my usual ganache.

from the top

The frosting covers the marshmallow, so you don’t know the marshmallow is there until you bite into it.  Surprise!  Mine are more like peek-a-boo than surprise because the ganache didn’t cover the marshmallow completely.

yummy!

Because I used bittersweet chocolate for the ganache, they are not all that sweet.  The cookie part is very cakey and I like that, too.  I’m going to try these “cakey chocolate chip cookies” next.

I also had this recipe bookmarked to try:

Cherry Tomato Puff Pastry Tart, after the vultures

I found it on Tasty Kitchen, but read the entry at the Italian Dish blog.  If you read the comments, someone said their crust turned out soggy.  So instead of dumping the contents of the tomato/olive oil bowl onto the pastry, I placed each tomato half cut-side-up.  I also used 2/3 c grated Gruyere and skipped the mozza (because I didn’t have any).

flaky puff pastry tomatoey goodness

It has a really nice flavour and the crust is so flaky and melt-in-your-mouth.  The big fella and I devoured most of it right off the baking sheet.

I gots a bunny in mah eye!

5 responses

  1. I appreciate all the foodie comments and recipe tweaking advice, esp since you actually try the recipe. You are a clever chef (i.e., placing the tomatoes on their backs so the juices don’t run out to get the pastry soggy). I wouldn’t have thought of that. However, what I really appreciate and enjoy is the regular commentary on Apollo and Sabrina. They are my daughters’ and my favorite “blog dogs”.

    • I can’t claim credit for that trick. The blog author where the recipe came from stated that you could do that to help prevent sogginess. I also didn’t just dump the bowl contents on the pastry because there was olive oil and tomato juice in the bottom of the bowl.

  2. What Minsiemom said. I get hungry every time you do a food post.

    Re: Traveling Woman: I’ve done three, and they seem to use substantially less yarn than the pattern would indicate, so feel free to add repeats if you want. Also, if you want a point at the bottom centre, you need an even number of repeats. Have fun!

  3. Mmmm cooookkkkiiieeeesssss! And the pizza looks not to shabby either!
    I think I’m going to fire up the grill and toss a couple shrimp on the barbie!

    • The cookies taste pretty good. The recipe calls for coarse salt (I used coarse sea salt), so every so often you get a little blast of salty in among the sweet.

Leave a comment

