not so cakey

I saw this recipe in that Martha Stewart Cookies cookbook and wanted to give it a try. It is the Cakey Chocolate Chip Cookies.

not what I expected

She says due to a different amount of butter and brown sugar that the cookies are to bake up more cake-like than cookie-like.  They mixed up like any other cookie dough.  I spooned them out as directed and put them in the oven to bake.  And bake.  And bake.  Instead of 10-12 minutes, it was more like 20 minutes for them to start to brown around the edges.

they left me feeling flat

I followed the recipe exactly (except for the baking times) and while they are chewier than my usual recipe, they are not very cakey at all.

I’d been meaning to pick out some sock yarn to start another pair of socks, but got distracted.  I’ve been having so much fun with the stripey mittens, I took a ball of Noro Silk Garden and cast on for some MORE mittens:

no stripeys this time

I’m curious if one 50 g ball of Silk Garden is enough for a pair of mittens.  I have some other scraps that I can use if I do run out.  This is colour #302.  It’s knitting up really nicely.  (In the left corner is the Araucania Ranco that I’m using for the Traveling Woman shawl.  I’ve been working on the stocking stitch section of that, too.)

Oh, and I finally ripped out the long-abandoned St. James sweater I’d started a long while ago.  I have put the pattern back in my big black pattern binder and will revisit it at some later date.

If only we had a riding mower, Apollo could take over the lawn care from the big fella.  I’m sure he’d love this:

The little tufts of breath crack me up …

3 responses

  1. I like the way he shoots a look at the camera and then gets back to the business of mowing.

    I’ve found most Martha Stewart stuff a bit shallow ~ from recipes to projects to gardening ~ never shapes up quite as presented.

  2. I will not be intimidated by Martha Stewart. My cookies are better. Anyone that can be so anal about frosting a cupcake or make mitered corners on the bedsheets just needs a little more sex in her life. And what’s this with all the glue. She must be the queen of the glue gun.

    The mittens are super. I love making mittens and my generic pattern with the thumb gore is practically mindless. I can even make them under the influence of my allergy drugs. Whoo hoo!

    • Well, I am not a fan of Martha (not at all) but the cookie cookbook looked really well laid out, it had nice photos and each type of cookie was categorized. The cookies are okay, just not what I was expecting from the title and commentary in the book.

Leave a comment

