Knitting, with brownies

no, not knitting-with-brownies; knitting, with brownies!  Yesterday I set out for Prairie Lily Knitting & Needlework for the Wednesday morning knit together.  I went bearing brownies.  I had arranged to meet the ever-fabulous Judy for the morning. (I ended up going for lunch with the group as well – it was AWESOME!)

Speaking of awesome, 6 out of 6 knitters agree:

fudgy chewy brownies

fudgy chewy brownies

Oh, jeez, I see Flickr has been monkeying about with their set up again.  I hate it when they keep changing things around and in their effort to make things more idiot-proof user friendly, they just make it more of a pain in the ass for those of us who do know how to use html.  I don’t even know if that pic up there will click.

Anyway, I’ve begun my brownie comparison study.  I had a couple of books from the library and the first thing to identify was what I wanted in a brownie.  I didn’t want any frilly-dilly bizarro brownie variations (i.e. candied ginger brownies? WTF?!)  I know from past experience and a process of elimination that I didn’t want a cakey brownie.  Nor did I want a completely fudgy brownies.  The cakey are too dry – if I wanted cake, I’d make cake.  The fudgy are too goopy and gooey.  If I wanted goopy/gooey I’d made lava cake.  So that left me with the chewy, or fudgy-chewy combination.  The recipe I’ve been using (Brownies from Amy’s Bread) are pretty good; I think they’re of the chewy variety.  I’ll need to compare that recipe to this one.

This recipe is one from Cook’s Illustrated.  It’s the Fudgy Chewy Triple Chocolate Brownies and it has 3 types of chocolate in it. Oh, I need to go off on a tangent here: the recipe calls for unsweetened chocolate, bittersweet chocolate and cocoa.  I followed the recipe exactly and they did turn out fabulously.  Very chewy and fudgy and not too sweet.  I didn’t add nuts, nor icing.  I probably wouldn’t add icing to these (or even a ganache) but I could contemplate nuts.  Anyway, I was looking at my baking chocolate today and next time I think I’ll try the Bakers Premium Dark Chocolate 70% cacao (the one with the molten lava cake on the box).  It has 20 fewer calories per ounce, 3 fewer grams of sugars and interestingly, 22% more of the RDV of iron than the bittersweet.  Very interesting!

I will keep researching and reporting back to you.

latest mittens underway

Another mitten underway:  that’s Noro Silk Garden #284.  Aren’t the colours great?  I was toying with the idea of making a “trigger finger” mitten, something like this. I’ll try that next pair.  I don’t know what I’m going to do with all these mittens, though … and there might have been some more Silk Garden that left with me from the yarn store.  New colours – what can I say?!

I also found this new yarn, Mulberry & Merino which is a silk/merino blend. I got two hanks in the “clear sky” colourway. I’m not sure what I’ll do with them; they were so soft, I couldn’t resist.  It’s a light worsted weight.

The best part of working from home is that even when I’m away (i.e. knitting and eating brownies with all my new friends) I can still pause and attend to work matters, as long as I have my Blackberry at hand.  Fab!

4 responses

  1. I like more of a cakey-chewie brownie. And for me, as with most baked goodies, they are simply a vehicle for nut delivery. A delicious vehicle, but a vehicle none the less!

  2. And how fabulous was it to spend the morning with you and the brownies? Thanks for making the trip in- you must have gotten up way before breakfast. Next time we’ll have to do better for lunch than fries and gravy. Maybe a nice tossed salad?

  3. I’ve got this recipe for cakey chewy brownie thingies called Double Chocolate No-No’s that is outta this world. You have to make sure you don’t overbake them and then they are best if kept in the freezer until you want a piece. To die for. Love the mittens too.

Leave a comment

