mmmore mmmittens

I finished off the latest Noro mittens:

IMG_4197

Noro Silk Garden #284

I had to use more than one ball.

IMG_4196

how much mitten knittin' in 50 g?

Well, that much!  I used probably about .25 of the second ball of yarn to finish the top of the mitten and the two thumbs.  I definitely have enough left over to do a matching Turn-a-Square hat with some Cascade 220.

IMG_4198

love these mittens!

I made this red chili chicken dish last night.  Soooo good.  This is the second time I made it.  I added extra broth when I was cooking the rice and onions; I also added broth as needed during the last bit of the cooking time.  So tasty!

Last week I tried this recipe for pasta sauce with lentils instead of meat.  I’d been reading some good things about lentils and how you could substitute them for beef in your meat sauces and red sauces.  Hmmm.  It was okay, but it wasn’t fantastic.  I’ve had much better tasting results by using Yves shamburger.  Much better.  I once took a shepherd’s/cottage pie to a pot luck and everyone raved about it (and the dish was practically licked clean).  No one asked, so I didn’t tell them it was shamburger.  I won’t bother with the lentil sauce again.

Our local library recently got hooked into a much larger system, so now we can request books from all libraries throughout the province.  I’ve been burning up my library card.  I’ve had some knitting books come in.  Some were great –  but some were dreadful.  I wanted to see this one because I enjoyed using the brioche stitch on a couple of hats and scarves and I really liked the texture.  Ugh.  Here’s the Rav link to the projects in the book. Cringe-inducing.

One I did like (and have ordered from Amazon) was the “Knits Men Want” book.  It has some nice basic sweater patterns that I really liked, like the Raglan Sleeve Henley and the Baseball Jersey.

I’ve also been getting a ton of cookbooks!  If only it wasn’t so stifling hot out, I’d feel more like baking.

Leave a comment

