everyday chocolate cake

I had seen this recipe for Everyday Chocolate Cake on Smitten Kitchen the other day.  I threw it together this afternoon and made it up before I started to prep supper.

Everyday Chocolate Cake

Everyday Chocolate Cake

I used Fry’s Cocoa which, I am given to believe is Dutch-processed as the recipe directs.  The photo shows the cake lighter than it is (flash wash).  It’s a deep dark chocolate brown.  Some of the commenters on Smitten Kitchen said they found the cake was dry and crumbly, but I didn’t find that at all. It has a good cocoa flavour, but I thought it wasn’t as chocolatey as cakes made with melted chocolate. I’ll have to have another piece to verify that, though.

IMG_4207

snoozin' in the sun

IMG_4208

whut?

IMG_4209

we luvs you, Mommy

IMG_4210

back to our snoozin'

IMG_4212

zzzzz

Oh, by the way, for supper tonight I made Giada’s Baked Penne with Roasted Vegetables. This is one of our favourite dishes and even Mr. Meat & Potatoes big fella loves it and comments on it every time we have it.  I used zucchini, white mushrooms, red peppers, red onion and some grape tomatoes that needed to be eaten.  I used a portobello marinara sauce for some extra flavour.  Hmmm, so good.

Had my board meeting yesterday and after getting groceries and running some errands this morning, I’ve been working on minutes and follow up.

Leave a comment

