lazy

I came across a recipe for Lazy Chicken on Tasty Kitchen.  I tried it tonight.  It was pretty good, but I had to make some changes to the method.  I had these gargantuan chicken breasts that must have come from the chicken farm downstream from the nuclear reactor.  The recipe says to cook them in the oven for an hour from frozen (mine were thawed).  Well, after an hour they still weren’t done, so I upped the temperature to 400° and they still needed another 10 or 12 minutes to test done by thermometer.  I used the seasoning mix at the end of that Tasty Kitchen post, except I omitted the curry and the ginger.

I made mashed potatoes and steamed carrots, in keeping with the lazy theme.  Nothing fancy.

But this:

IMG_4479

Lazy Daisy Cake

is unbelievably good.  I came across a Lazy Daisy cake recipe in a library book, so I looked online to see what other variations there were.  This one can be found here. I substituted 1 c. buttermilk instead of regular milk; and for the topping I used 1/3 c. heavy cream instead of the evaporated milk.

IMG_4475

another Turn-a-Square hat

I finished off the latest hat last night.  I didn’t quite have enough of the Silk Garden #325 so I used some of another colour … I can’t remember what it was left over from.  Maybe it’s #244?

IMG_4476

still diggin' the raglan square top!

.

IMG_4474

goof!

I’ve got another pair of solid Noro mittens underway – no stripes this time!  I might get through my stash of Noro making mittens and hats!

One response

  1. goof needs some lazy daisy cake, stat!

    you should put the food last. my drool is shorting out the keyboard before i finish reading.

Leave a comment

