ain’t nuthin wrong with this bread!

One of the books I got from the library recently was the Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I’d read about it on Ravelry.  The basic premise is that you mix up a batch of dough (in five minutes), let it rest, then put it in the fridge.  You can then take dough out as needed and bake a quick loaf.

Artisan in 5 Buttermilk Bread

dough after initial mixing

I used my KichenAid mixer with the dough hook.  I just dumped the wet ingredients in, then sprinkled the salt, sugar and yeast on top, then dumped in the flour and let the machine do the work.  I only mixed it until the flour was worked in.  Then I plopped it into the storage container.

Artisan in 5 Buttermilk Bread

after resting/rising 2 hours

I let it rise on the counter for two hours.  One could hack off a blob of dough and shape a loaf and give it a second rising and bake, but I popped it in the fridge.

Artisan in 5 Buttermilk Bread

loaf before second rising

This afternoon I took the dough out of the fridge and grabbed a hunk.  I should have grabbed about 1/4 or 1/3 of a loaf more as it was a little small for this loaf pan.

Artisan in 5 Buttermilk Bread

after rising for 1h 45m

Ready for the oven.  I slashed the top and brushed with melted butter.  I didn’t dust with flour like the recipe states.

Artisan in 5 Buttermilk Bread

finished loaf

I baked the loaf 42 minutes and tested doneness with an instant-read digital thermometer to an internal temp of 205°F.

Artisan in 5 Buttermilk Bread

the hardest part - waiting for it to cool so I could cut it

My loaf was small because I didn’t grab enough dough, but it was wonderfully baked and the bread had a nice, fine crumb but it was chewy and had some substance to it.  The crust wasn’t hard (some “artisan” breads have that rock-hard crust that you can break a tooth on), it sliced nicely and tasted great.

Here’s a blog post I found that includes the recipe from the book.

The book is quite interesting and I like the underlying premise – great fresh bread in five minutes a day.  I read some sites, blogs and comments on videos where people are saying it’s not really only five minutes a day.  Well, yes it is.  The time when you are actively touching/handling the dough, it is five or fewer minutes.  It took me about five minutes to mix the dough up.  It took me something like three minutes this afternoon to saw off a hunk, form it and plop it into the pan.  The resting times are much like you’d have with any other bread recipe.  You do have to plan ahead, but it’s not time consuming.

The book explains how to get a crispy crust using a baking stone and putting a tray of water in the bottom of the oven to produce steam.  You can make it as complex as you want – do the freeform boule of dough on a baking stone with steam, or freeform on a cookie sheet, no steam, or like this, in a loaf pan.  Yummy.  I am very pleased with the result.

double rainbow

double rainbow this evening

Knit content – I washed the hat I made with Noro Silk Garden and the one with the Silk Garden sock yarn hoping to soften them up.  Uh oh – they really stretched out.  I’m guessing that 45% silk content is what is causing that.  I’m trying to find a way to tighten it up again.  Dryer?

2 responses

  1. I need to show this to my husband! Our bread machine is dying a slow death, but I think this recipe is ideal for us as he likes fresh bread as often as possible. We could probably mix it by hand – and when I say we, I mean he – and it wouldn’t be too painful, as it’s only once in a while. Thanks!

Leave a comment

