a good day for soup

so I made a big pot of Italian Meatball Soup Rapido:

IMG_5536

it tastes even better!

I used some PC Frozen Italian Beef Meatballs; and instead of the spinach, I used kale.  And I used a blend of asiago, romano and parmesan cheese.  Yum.  So good.  Two big thumbs up from both of us.

It was -40°C with the wind chill for most of the day.  Brr.

IMG_5523

blocking

I finished off the Boneyard Shawl I was working on.  I used some Knit Picks Stroll Tonal in “kindling” which is all deep, rich shades of brown.  I made it the same as the blue Boneyard Shawl, sock yarn with 4 mm needles.  Because this was a larger ball of yarn, I had some left over (instead of running out on the cast-off row).  I worked 10 stocking stitch sections and 10 rows of garter stitch for the border.  Blocked measurements are 48″ wide (wingspan) and 24″ deep at center.

IMG_5529

pretty close to true colours, but a little less yellow-toned than this

Remember that last Wide Cuff Watch Cap (WCWC) that I made with the luscious Sweet Georgia Superwash Worsted in “Lakeshore Drive”?  Well, as much as I loved the yarn, every time I wore the hat it said it wanted to be mittens.  It said the colours would pool much more delightfully with a shorter cast on such as the mittens would have.  So I ripped it out.

IMG_5534

when the yarn speaks, one must listen

So once I get a couple of other smaller projects out of the way, I’ll make some mittens with this gorgeous stuff.

4 responses

Leave a comment

