it was worth it

My back is killing me after standing so long in the kitchen, but it was totally worth it!  I was trying to find some new things to make for supper and decided to try Chicken Parmesan.

Chicken Parm!

that's one behemoth chicken breast

I used this recipe pretty much as it’s written.  She has really good “progress” pics.  I was running a little late this aft and was late getting the red sauce going.  I made Giada’s marinara sauce.  Luckily it makes a big batch, so I have about half left over for another meal.  I made spaghetti as the side (mixed with more red sauce), along with a Caesar salad and garlic toast.  I used fresh mozza and fresh grated Parmesan.  It tasted really, really good.  Better than when I get it at BPs, but a lot of work.

(the big fella said to mention that he didn’t eat that entire chicken breast; he’s saved half of it for tomorrow.)

I was going to bake some cupcakes but ran out of time.  Maybe on the weekend.

IMG_5661

bookends

 

5 responses

  1. I made Chicken Parmesan the other day also, only I didn’t have chicken breasts so I used chicken thighs, and I didn’t have any fresh grated parmesan so I had to use the Kraft shaker kind fine grind, and I didn’t have any buffalo mozza, so I used a block of marble cheese. I also didn’t make a marinara sauce because I didn’t have time so I used a tin of low sodium crushed tomatoes. And because I am watching sodium like a hawk, I didn’t add any spices. And it was actually quite edible. Of course, I have now bought the correct ingredients and will make it the correct way for Sunday dinner, but it can be made with substitutions also. I won’t make the death salad as it’s way too high in fat and your mother says it’s bad for you, didcha know? but I will make whole wheat spaghetti. hmmmm nummy already.

    • A little bit of Caesar salad once in a while isn’t going to kill us! And you could still have added spices without adding salt (my Italian blend is marjoram, thyme, rosemary, sage, oregano and basil). Check the label on your Kraft fake parm to see how much fat and sodium are in it!

Leave a comment

