a lot more difficult than I thought

I’ve been putting in a lot of work time lately. I work from home, so it’s easy to think “oh, I’ll just do a little bit on this file or that file” and next thing I know, four hours have gone by. Good for the wallet, but not so good for the knitting time!

Today I decided that I wasn’t going to do any work; no “work” work, no housework.  I was going to bake the cupcakes I’d been putting off all week, and I was going to knit on my current socks.  I wasn’t even going to be on the computer that much, if I could.  This was easier said than done.  I was watching a little bit of the Duke marathon on AMC and kept thinking, “oh, I should get the vacuum and run it over the carpet runners/area rugs”, “oh, I should start a load of laundry”, “oh, I should read some of those documents that got emailed to me …”  It’s hard to not do “anything”!

Sabrina and Apollo got me this cookbook for Christmas, bon appetit Desserts.  I wanted to try the Devil’s Food Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting.  My mad google-fu found a copy of the recipe on Google Books.  I used Baker’s Gold 70% dark chocolate instead of the milk chocolate called for in the cupcake batter.  I used Fry’s cocoa.

IMG_5670

chocolate perfection

The recipe says its yield is 16.  I had 17, so I ate one as soon as it was cool enough.  Quality control, folks.

IMG_5666

the icing - a lot darker chocolately brown than the flash showed

I liked that the frosting/icing recipe only had a little bit of sugar in it.  Quite often the icing recipes which accompany cakes, cupcakes, etc. are so sweet I can’t stand them.  I also use bittersweet/dark chocolate in place of milk chocolate for that same reason.  This recipe made a lot of icing.  Next time I would make a half-recipe.  But it was really tasty.  I would use this for layer cakes and brownies, as well.  It is just two types of chocolate, 2 Tbs each of heavy cream and butter, 1/2 cup sour cream, vanilla and only 1/4 cup icing sugar.  And easy peasy to make.

IMG_5673

I forced myself to bite into it to show you the insides

So now I will go back to my knitting!

 

5 responses

  1. Ah, I love the idea of not putting off cupcakes. Sounds like a good thing to me. And I’m with you on the icing recipes: most are so sweet that I try to use less sugar and end up with something that’s not quite right. I’ll have to try that recipe myself!

  2. Oh the sacrifices you make for your readers. It is so lovely that I will not have to go to bed tonight wondering what the inside of that cupcake looks like. It really is too bad that there is not such a thing as a scratch and sniff blog.

Leave a comment

