OMG you guys!

You have to try this stew recipe:

High Maintenance Stew

high maintenance, but soooo worth it!

I saw this recipe a while back on Mel’s Kitchen Cafe and knew I would have to try it.  It looked so delicious.  I printed off the recipe (twice, actually – the big fella put the first copy in the recycling along with the grocery flyers) and on Saturday got the groceries I would need for it.

It is more fiddly than your usual crock pot/slow cooker recipe.  Brown this, saute that, simmer the other, then pack the potatoes and carrots in foil, blah blah blah.  BUT … once it’s all in there and cooking and filling the house with its delicious aroma, it doesn’t seem like it was that much work.

And when it’s finished and you get to eat it with a nice soft butter roll … FABULOUS!!  I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn’t have enough stewing beef, so I used a few short ribs with the bone and extra fat trimmed off.  I used tapioca starch instead of minute tapioca.

This definitely gets added to the “will make again” recipe binder!

4 responses

Leave a comment

