It’s Monday again

but we had a pretty good weekend.  I baked Banana Bread:

IMG_6011

delicious banana bread

This is another recipe from the “Flour” book, called the “Famous Banana Bread”. After I’d baked it, I was looking online and again there’s a discrepancy from the online version to the book. The flour amount is different. Weird.  I must say this is the best tasting and best-result banana bread I’ve had.  I think the key is to mix the sugar and eggs for the full five minutes (my recipe said 5 if you were using a stand mixer), then carefully fold the rest of the ingredients in as the recipe states.  I baked it for an hour.

I used a 10×4.5 pan instead of the 9×5 the recipe called for.  I thought it would be the same volume.  It should have been, don’t you think?  The batter was right at the top of the pan when I put it in to bake and as it rose, it fell off over the edges.  Next time I’d fill the pan less and use one or two mini-loaf pans for the extra batter.

IMG_6016

lazy hound Sunday

Although how is that different from any other hound weekday?

IMG_6017

Sunday, Wednesday ... it's all the same

.

IMG_6014

the trifecta of elegance

Drippy nose, fang hanging out, ears fully extended (at least one)

I came across this recipe for Beef Pot Pie that I wanted to try and I did last night:

IMG_6018

super delish!

I followed the recipe except I forgot to put the peas in.  And I didn’t add the cheddar at the end.  I made a 1.25x recipe because I had a little more stewing beef than the recipe called for.  So I had four French Onion soup bowls full, plus three ramekins.

IMG_6020

little pot of heaven!

Next time I will make sure the puff pastry covers the entire top of the bowl.  I used the egg wash like the recipe stated, but I think it made the pastry top a little soggy.  I might lighten that up next time or not use it at all.  I had a little trouble browning the meat.  I used my big heavy porcelain coated cast iron KitchenAid dutch oven but had a hard time getting a good sear on the beef cubes.  Next time I might just use my stainless steel one instead.  The cast iron is good for long, low simmering, though.  Hmm.

ETA:  I just noticed on that recipe link that she vented the puff pastry.  I didn’t do that; maybe that makes a difference in the flaky/puffiness of the pastry over a bowl of steaming hot stew?

3 responses

  1. Does Ava have one ear that stays up and one that flops over? She’s so cute.

    Now that I’ve seen the little pot pies I have to go and have a sandwich or something.

  2. Oh my, such succulent food, yum. I really must do something with the bananas in my freezer, I might make a banana bread;)

    Beryl’s ears are like Ava’s. She doesn’t look like Beryl if they are both down, and she can put them both up too and she looks like a dingo:)

Leave a comment

