Apollo and the Warthog(s)

The mail man rang the doorbell this morning and gave us a huge box of goodies from our friends in No. Cal. It was stuffed with fabulous things! Not one, but two grunting wart hogs:

IMG_6063

are you grunting at me?!

Ava got a fabulous new coat:

IMG_6065

a cookie bribe

As soon as I put it on her, she jumped up on the couch and curled up for a little nap.  I had to bribe her with a cookie to stand up.  I love it – it’s lined with skull and crossbones fleece and is wonderful turquoise!  It fits her pretty good – a hand-me-down from her Cousin Crivvie.  Thanks, Crivvie!  She’ll be stylin’ in it!

There was a sweet CHiP shirt for the big fella.  There were goodies for me:

IMG_6067

awesome little project bag and some hand spun yarn!

The print and colours are perfect – so “me”.  The yarn has so many wonderful colours and I can’t wait to make something with it!

IMG_6070

bee-you-tiful!

We feel very spoiled today!  Thanks, Wendy, Nick and Felix!

12 responses

  1. Isn’t it wonderful to receive gifts just because someone loves you. Any idea the type of yarn or where it is from. It looks beautiful.

    • The yarn was spun by Wendy herself and is “192 yards, handspun 3 ply from Blue Moon Fiber Arts superwash merino”. It weighs 212 g and is about 12 wpi.

  2. I wish you could show me how to knit. I’ve watched video’s online and read a couple of manuals, but can’t seem to get it thru my head how to start.

    The jacket looks so pretty – blue is really her color!

    Sam

  3. Wow, what great presents, and what thoughtful friends you have! It’s wonderful when people know just exactly you will like… not just random gifts for the sake of gifts. Lucky you!

  4. That is a gorgeous hank of yarn. I used to do a lot of spinning, dyeing, knitting etc and have kept 2 spinning wheels for my ‘old age’ which is rapidly approaching. Somehow I don’t think they will get much use though.

    Looking forward to seeing what you create from the yarn. The coat for Ava is lovely.

  5. Yay, glad you like it all! We love you guys! I’m finally catching up on blogreading while the suckling piglet does his thing.

Leave a comment

