Woecake

I wanted to do some baking on the weekend and had a hankering to try Boston Cream Pie.  Because the cupcake recipe was so good (with the exception of the ganache), I thought I’d give the Martha Stewart recipe a try.

IMG_6109
hmm, it looks okay from here …

Although I didn’t like the look of the ganache on the recipe photo, I figured I could change that out easily enough. I read through the recipe and noticed that there was hardly any butter in the cake batter which seemed weird to me. So I looked online for different recipes. I found many that were for two layers of cake, but I wanted only one. I found this recipe on delish.com. It looked a little better. I mixed it up and started baking it. I debated using cake strips, but decided to forgo them. In retrospect, I probably should have made the effort. The cake was getting very brown around the edges, but after almost 40 minutes, the center was still a little soft.

I took it out of the oven before the edges actually burned, but the center sunk and was gooey after it cooled.

IMG_6112

lowered expectations

The pastry cream was also weird.  I followed ol’ Martha’s recipe specifically for boston cream pie pastry cream and it used 6 TBS of corn starch (gross) The recipe made the cream really thick, then it said to chill it for at least 3 hours, which I did, and then it says to stir it with a whisk. I tried that, but it just made it into smaller clumps. (gross) It tasted okay, it just had a weird texture to it.

IMG_6115

taste test - only "okay".

I also used the delish.com recipe for the chocolate ganache and it turned out well at least.  So 1 out of 3.  Massive cake fail.  I might just scrape the ganache off and eat that …

One response

  1. Yummm yummm…. My husband and I are trying to watch our weight, but I’m on a headache med that is causing me to crave sweets. If I could reach through the screen and snag a slice of that I would!

    Sam

Leave a comment

