run ragged

I’ve been so busy; I feel completely run ragged.  There’s more “what I need/want to do” in a day than hours.  It took me days and days to find a half hour to clean my bathroom.  I haven’t been knitting a lot.  I miss it!

IMG_6118

Jimmy Beans sent me some wool

I had an idea for a three-colour hat.  I got Cascade 220 superwash as this will be something I’ll donate to our greyhound picnic/auction in September.  Easy care will be a good thing.

IMG_6124

grey/charcoal/black

I wasn’t sure, once I had the yarn here, that the black and greys went together, but when I twist them together, they look good.  I think they’ll be okay.  The browns look wonderful together.

IMG_6130

World Peace cookies

My nephew and his girl were coming for supper last night.  I really didn’t have a lot of time to make a big chocolate cake, I wasn’t sure if he/they’d like Crème Brûlée.  So I decided to try this recipe I came across.  Icebox method, you mix the dough, roll it into a log, then chill a day or so, slice and bake.  Called Dorie Greenspan’s World Peace Cookies.   I was going to serve cookies and ice cream for dessert.  Saw this wonderful looking ice cream that would go good with the cookies:

The cookie dough mixed up easily.  I chilled it overnight, then yesterday afternoon went to slice and bake off.  I was teetering near cookie fail.  The dough was really dry and crumbly.  There are no eggs in it, so it’s more like a shortbread sort of dough.  I had to use my best gourmet knife to slice them and even then, some fell apart when I moved them onto to cookie sheet.  I smooshed them back together.

They turned out okay, but they’re not “all that”.  I don’t think I’d make them again.  They tasted fine, just didn’t live up to the billing that the recipe gave them.

IMG_6132

Ava stops barking at the cat across the street long enough to look beautiful

I have some mileage on my Noro Kureyon socks; I’ll have to get a photo for next time.  The Kureyon sock yarn is more even/less thick/thin than the Silk Garden.  I’d tried a couple of times to make socks with the Silk Garden, but it was an exercise in frustration.  I decided to try the Kureyon and see how that would go.

IMG_6135

"you got any food over there?"

Our weather has finally smartened up and is less crappy.  Today was still cool; bitter wind.  Thursday I had to go out for an appointment and to pick up a few things; I left in a leather jacket; too warm; came home and put on a bunny hug, it was still too warm in the van and going into stores.  I realized I’d completely forgotten how to gauge the weather for anything other than a puffy coat.  Which I put away -again- in the basement for the year.  We’ll get a blizzard now for sure.

5 responses

  1. I really like those yarn colors together.

    I didn’t think there was such a thing as cookie fail.

    Ava, I’m sure you’re looking beautiful even when you are looking at the cat across the street!

  2. Too bad about the cookies. The sure LOOK good! I’m looking forward to seeing that hat. I’m not great at colour combos myself, and I’m always amazed at what other people come up with!

Leave a comment

